Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky | March 5, 2014

Berry Pie with Tapioca

I baked today.

Pie on marble cutting board

I experimented with making a fruit pie using black raspberries from our freezer via my garden (frozen from last summer) and Tapioca.

I bought a whole wheat pie crust from Country Life Foods (no transfat’s/no preservatives.) In a bowl I mixed up ¼ cup of Tapioca, a sprinkle of white sugar and sprinkle of orange zest. I assembled and baked for 45 minutes at 400 degrees until bubbly.

Pie close

Delicious and not too unhealthy for us either. YUM!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. I love berries, and I love tapioca, but I never thought to put them together. This sounds interesting. What is the texture like?

    • The texture is very much like a berry only pie. There is a slight difference due to the Tapioca but not really noticeable to me. The best thing about the Tapioca is that it holds the pie together, adds a subtle flavor without a lot of sugar, which many of us are trying to avoid. So far, I’ve made a blueberry Tapioca pie and a Black raspberry Tapioca pie. The fresh picked blueberries was the best blueberry pie I have ever eaten. Later this weekend I intend to try the same thing with peaches!!

  2. I use a box of Kraft Minute Tapioca. Looks like tiny granual’s -about the size of couscous grains. I was looking for tapioca pudding and stumble upon this and just tried it. It’s a 8 oz. box in red. I “think” I found it near the pudding/Jello in the grocery store. It has recipes on the side for fruit pies and pudding on the back. I rarely use pre-packaged foodstuff but a friend wanted me to make him a “healthy” blueberry pie so I tried this one day and liked it.

    I was making a big meal from scratch as well and need a way to get everything done at the same time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

