Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky | April 1, 2014

Flea Market Styling my Outbuildings

I really like to decorate and add year-round interest in my garden. So I’m always on the lookout for unique and affordable outdoor items with extra creative potential. I require sturdy metal objects that will hold up in our wild and wooly weather here in SW Michigan. This winter I found some potential “accessories” at resale shops to “junk up’ my granddaughters playhouse and our small pool house storage shack.

TIN CEILING REPLICA: This tin piece was a resale shop buy for just $9.99. As soon as I saw it I knew I wanted to hang it on the diagonal on the pool house roof line above the south-facing trellis. It fills the space nicely and can be seen at a distance – another one of my “okay to buy it” criteria.

Pool house final snow

Even though we still have snow on the ground we were able to hang the tin ceiling replica on the pool house today. Once the climber begins to bloom again, the country garden look will be enhanced.

I’ve been thinking I might want to paint them in bright colors or leave them the creamy white color they were when I found them. Ultimately I decided to leave them cream since my sundial and fence panel are also white. I also feel that the consistent neutral tone in these items allows the flowers and foliage to shine through.

Pool house ladder before USE

The cedar sided pool house “before.”

Finally today dawned warm and sunny (at long last!) and we were able to put several of those items up and in their now location.

MAILBOX: First I found a $9.99 mailbox for my granddaughter’s playhouse. I have been looking for one of these for some years. I see us leaving little notes for each other and treasures in this mailbox – just for fun and to make some great playtime memories.

Box and railing before use

The playhouse railing “before.”

Gene positioning nice

Beginning the install of the mailbox.

mailbox and drill use

The resale shop mailbox.

PLATE RACK TURNED TRELLIS: Most people use a plate rack like this to hang plates. But my plan is to nestle this into the soil next to my grand daughters playhouse as a narrow trellis to hold a climbing plant.

Plate rack close up before jpeg

When I saw this plate rack I thought I could use this as a decorative trellis to hold a climber.

Plate rack on playhouse before jpeg

Less costly than a wooden trellis this will give the playhouse a unique look and a functional way to hold a climber.

I can’t garden just yet but I can begin to plan, dream and work my way there!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. I like all of your new additions, particularly the little mailbox for your granddaughter!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

