Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | March 3, 2012

Thrift Shop Treasure

Thrift Store Candle Box

I’ve been watching a two-drawer candle box at my local resale shop for several months now. I live in a rural area of Michigan where there are no flea markets, few garage sales and only one resale shop, about 20 miles away. Finding treasures here can be hard.

Visiting this box, with its light blue stain over a medium toned wood, I realize am not sure of its age. It has a rough barn board base and round and smooth wooden pulls. It has no dovetails inside the drawers but rather has tiny nails and glue markings, so I am calling it “vintage.” (If anyone knows its approximate age, I’d love that info.,please.)

Earlier this week when I walked into the shop it was marked 25% off. The $35 price tag was marked down to $24 and change and with my $8.45 credit (for items I had previously sold there) I snatched it up.

On my drive home, I thought about several spots I might display it; on top of my refrigerator, on the file cabinet next to my laptop, or, maybe on our wide fireplace mantle to name a few. I thought about painting or staining it but decided I would wait until I placed it, see how it looked and then decide.

When I got home I placed it on the mantle and “Wahoo,” it looks perfect just as it is. I put a packet of safety candles and tea lights in its wide drawers in case of a power outage. If the power should go out, I’ll build a fire in the wood burning fireplace and then light the candles, so having them in the same place makes perfect sense to me. Oh happy day!

It’s been almost week now and my husband hasn’t said a word…don’t think he spotted it yet. Does your husband notice when a new item appears?

Responses

  1. I would like to know the outside dimensions of this candle box. It might be a good item to reproduce for the museum store. I volunteer at the Maine Forestry and Lumbering Museum and make things from wood milled at the waterwheel powered sawmill.

    Richard


Leave a Reply

Categories

