Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | March 23, 2012

What’s old is new again…again…and again

Making a comeback…

I feel a bit old today. I’ve not been secretive about my age…I am 62 years young and usually proud of it.

As I peruse the current decorating blogs, I’ve seen a style trend materializing. This trend is painted furniture and repurposing of all things old and vintage to create a unique sense of style in our homes.

I am now realizing that many of the decorating techniques I used when I was young and newly married and setting up housekeeping (in 1970) have come full circle again. Buying at garage sales, accepting hand-me-downs from parents, painted furniture, brick walls, brick and board book shelves and made-by-hand has all come back. We styled our homes this way because we had to, as many of us were still in college and very, very poor.

It’s funny, but we could not wait until we graduated and made enough at our jobs to save up and buy new varnished wood furniture from the local furniture stores! This probably sounds sacrilegious to the young designers out there today but it was the sign of the times, then.

I do “get” that today it’s about a flea market style trend, decorating on a budget and most importantly about repurposing and recycling. And yet, 40 years later “our” old decorating style are back “in style” again this time not so much as a budget decision but as a full blown trend!

1970’s Trends Reborn

Mateus wine bottles

Lava lamps

Painted furniture

Crock pots

Fondue pots and fondue parties

Bell bottom pants

(Back to the land to grow your own food)

What other trends from the 1970’s are back?

Snall House/Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. I have to say that I do think budget is an issue these days as well, but thrifty is in with the DIYers!

    • Ragan (What a beautiful name!)

      Thank you for visiting my blog. Yes, you are so right….we DYI’s are a thrify bunch! I love that in this material world, we have this option! And, its probably one of the threads that connect us all in this end of blogland.

      PLease stop in again when you can and thank you ever so much for visiting Small House Under a Big Sky.

      Small House / Big Sky Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

