Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | April 16, 2012

Pillow Talk

You may recall reading about my studio porch makeover a few weeks ago. I had just finished painting the rescued mid-century modern chair and ottman.

I initially used an old pink floral pillow that I had on hand but really longed for something with more pizazz. Since I use pressed botanicals a LOT in my handmade papers, I’d hoped for a botanical themed pillow. I’d seen a simple fern print I liked at Home Depot (I adore ferns!) but it was not the right size for my chair seat and those on-line were custom and way too expensive for me.  I just kept looking.

Finally I found a pillow style and color that I really love called Lakeside Paisley. I was aiming for brown and greens and surprised even myself by buying the green, soft aqua, gold and brown paisley print but it works! Guess I have always been partial to paisley, as my living room couch and guest bedroom bedspread are both a paisley pattern.

Paisley fabric close-up

Here it is…ta da

The grouping:

I bought my pillows at the Meijer’s Inc., a  Michigan bsed chain, though Goggles says that they are available at both Target and Wal-Mart. Best of all is that the fabric is treated for fading; they are filled with recycled fiberfill made from plastic bottles and are water repellant. They are affordable at $10.00 and $15.00.

I know that teal and aqua are really hot this season but I never thought I’d head towards aqua for this seating area… but it looks wonderful against the green siding on my building.

Now I’m on the lookout for a small outdoor rug or maybe even an indoor/outdoor runner! Thanks for visiting!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

