Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | May 2, 2012

Memories of Tea Parties Past: Child’s Table and Chair Set – Reveal

I picked up this sweet little child’s table and chair set for my granddaughters at a garage sale a few years back. I washed it off, set it up on my 3 season’s porch and waited. I was working then, so it took me a few years to get around to painting it but this spring I finally did.

Table and chairs before when they were painted a medium blue color

I originally had a choice between two sets at the sale; one plastic and one wood. With me, wood always wins out! I choose the wood set as I knew I could paint it and it was sturdy and long lasting. I also knew that when the girls had outgrown the set in a few years that I could probably sell it for more than I paid for it, (though that is not by any means the main reason I bought it.)

Table and chair set after painted a sage green and set for afternoon tea

I used a Benjamin Moore brand paint called MoorGlow which is a older line of latex house and trim paint. This was paint I had on hand from our old Cape Cod house in the city when we painted the new steel door, just prior to putting it on the market. I have a formula, not actual name, but I’d describe it somewhere between a sea foam and a sage green.

Not a bad investment for $12.00!!

Please be my guest for afternoon tea?

The children’s tea set dishes are part of a larger set of blue and white Phoenix Bird China collection I collected, displayed and used in my old home for special occasion meals. I had spent 30+ years collecting them piece-by piece but I was tired of dusting them and was at a point where I wanted to simplify my life. I sold them to Replacement’s Unlimited in NC and put the cash towards building my art studio. I have a few pieces of the children’s tea set left.

I use to set these out for ‘moral support’ when my two son’s were sick and needed a little TLC. They would munch on Ritz crackers spread with peanut butter and jelly and drink tea with honey to sooth their tummies.

Delicate flowers picked along the roadside complete the table setting

I plan to pass these delicate dishes onto my granddaughter when she is older and is able to take care of them.  

A lace cafe curtain top turned into a lacy tablecloth

Old memories…new memories…isn’t that what it is all about?

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Thanks so much for the “like” for the post about the reveal on the child’s table and chair make over. I appreciate your kind words and your visit.

    Small House / Big Sky Donna

  2. To the owner of a Detailed House blog. Thanks for your visit and comments. I jumped on your blog today and realize I have visited it several times before. I really like your WordPress format too, Chateua.

    Have a great week!

    Small House / Big Sky Donna

  3. Camilla, Thank so much for the great “like” for my post about the child’s table and chair set and memories of my children’s tea parties. I appreciate you’re visiting and your kind comments. I jumped on your site too and your scarves are yummy. Best of luck in your business endeavors!

    Small House/ Big Sky Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

