Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | May 10, 2012

Sweet Country Painted Nightstand Find “Before”

I was able to hit three, quick garage sales this morning on my way to yoga class. The first two came up empty and on the third one, I hit a bonanza. (My husband always says you have to kiss a few toads before you find your prince.)

The country table “before”

I only paid an unbelievable $3.00 for this sweet little ‘chippy’ table with a drawer, a shelf and glass knobs that has “country” written all over it! I am thinking entry way table or nightstand. I love its curved front and back, the little shelf, the original glass nobs on the drawer and the delicateness of the overall piece.

Side view with hand-painted panel of flowers

While I really like the shade of forest green, the hand-painted thin black line and the petite flowers, it has a few cigarette burns on the top so I will paint it. My husband will sand the top, glue and fill any indentations that need it and then it is Annie Sloan Chalk paint and wax for me.

Glass nobs and painted panel on the drawer front

If my daughter-in-law wants this for my granddaughter’s big girl bedroom, I’ll paint it in a ”two-toned” combo of a Duck Egg Blue (her bedroom walls are a soft blue.) If not and it goes to be sold, I’ll paint it in a Old White and Paris Grey combo, a no-fail neutral that goes with everything.

It will be a few weeks out as I am still painting the vintage dressing table and accessories but stay tuned for the after photo!

Happy garage sailing to you too!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

