Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | May 15, 2012

Anyone Experiencing ASCP Lifting?

I spent a lot of time today working on the vintage dressing table restoration. It’s been a lot of work painting this piece in the two-tone combo I choose – ASCP Emperor’s Silk red and Benjamin Moore sea foam green. (I want to coordinate this dressing table with an existing deep green wall color in my office and I wasn’t feeling confident enough yet to try to mix a ASCP green yet.)

Today I finished the last coat of paint, put the glass nobs on the drawers and all that is left is to wax the red painted areas. The stool is painted and needs to be waxed and reupholstered as well.

I noticed that the paint lifted a bit when I put items down on the top surface to take some photographs today… have any of you experienced this? I am hoping that it just means that the paint needs more time to really dry well.  So I pulled the dressing table out into the 70 degree sun today to see if that would help.

My studio is cool and moist so I think this might be either affecting the drying process or causing the paint to chip off or lift off when another item is set on its surface…

Have any of you had this paint lifting experience before?

Here is a teaser photo…The dressing table taped and in the process of being painted.

The drawer fronts have been painted and waxed in ASCP dark wax.

If anyone has had any paint lifting or chipping off experiences please let me know.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

