Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | May 20, 2012

Thrift Store Stool Before and After

I just finished a redoing this vintage pine stool. Here is the completed piece. This DYI project only cost me just over $21.00 including ASCP and wax!

I wanted a stool to set in front of the vintage dressing table that I am restoring (just waiting for the wax to dry then it will be photographed.) I found this unloved stool at a thrift shop but I knew it was just an ugly duckling that I could turn into a beautiful swan.

The ugly duckling stool “before”  with dark shiny stain.

These lathe turned legs have possibilities!

Then the search was on for low-cost fabric. I found two king-size floral pillow cases at another resale shop that I felt was perfect. After a Fabreeze and sunshine treatment, I cut the fabric to make a new top for the stool.

The floral fabric being “sanitized” by the sunshine.

This piece was my own personal “test” for using the ASCP Emperor’s Silk paint with dark wax. I wanted to try a smaller piece to prove to myself I could do this before I attenpted the more complex two-toned dressing table I saw in my ‘minds-eye.’

I read that using dark wax straight on chalk paint will “stain” the chalk paint, which was the technique I used, AND it was just the effect I was looking for. The stool and fabric colors are perfect for my office with its medium green walls and green, red and gold Oriental area rug.

Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in Emperor’s Silk red.

The stool frame after two coats of paint but before it has been waxed.

I got up at 6 a.m. this morning to photograph this stool in the soft Michigan early morning light. How I envy Miss Mustard Seed who has an empty wall in her dining room where she photographs all of her lovely hand-painted pieces.

Look at the gorgeous burnished color of those turned legs hand-painted with the ASCP paint and fnished with dark wax – a glowing and totally scrumpious look!


The finished stool in all its ‘rich in look – completed under budget’ loveliness.

Cost Breakdown:

Stool $6.99

2 Floral pillow cases, I only needed one, $2.50. May save case number two for a pillow for a second chair.

Annie Sloan Chalk Paint and dark wax estimating a $12.00 cost breakdown.

Project Total: $21.49

Do you like the floral print with the red paint? Let me know what you think…or how you would have painted the piece instead?

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

