Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | May 21, 2012

Annie Sloan Dark Wax Experiment

I have had this wooden decorative birdhouse for many, many years. I think I picked it up at a resale shop for around $6.00. It’s been in my three seasons porch the past few years sitting on a table.

The birdhouse after its make-over. See how it shines?

Here it is “before.” Wasn’t it a plain Jane?

Recently I decided it needed to be refreshed. I was learning to use ASCP and dark wax and thought this would be a good opportunity to see just what the wax could do.

I started by painting bands of Benjamin Moore Pecos Spice (AC14 medium based exterior paint used on my three storm doors) around the top part of the piece and then painted bottom strip and legs as well. After the three coasts of paint were dried, I used ASCP dark wax to highlight the painted parts of the wood as well as the unpainted parts. I also waxed the metal finial top and it took the wax beautifully. This paint claims to work well on metal and in this case it sure did.

This was an interesting and fruitful experiment and I just love how it made EVEN the unpainted parts burnished and shiny!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

