Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | May 29, 2012

Flea Market Seating

Happy Memorial Day!

These are the treasures I found over Memorial Weekend.

I was so looking forward to doing some flea market and garage sale treasure hunting this holiday weekend. I had one goal in mind…to find a vintage chest of drawers.

Although my husband had to work both Saturday and Sunday, I had decided to make lemonade out of this lemon and use my RARE free time to find some furniture to paint.

It rained so I packed my umbrella and thought no problemo… few shopprs only means better bargains for me!

What I found was crazy prices! I am so disappointed! A $395.00 price tag on an vintage chest of drawers makes it impossible to paint and fix it up and then resell it at a realistic price.

How do other furniture painters manage the high prices of second hand furniture these days? It just seems that I leave empty handed more often than not and get so discouraged.  And the resale shops that use to be SO affordable are SO not these days and Craig’s list in my area is just as bad, if not worse.

How do you deal with this issue?

I was shopping for vintage chest of drawers and could not find anything in my price range. I did find a country curved stool for $1.00, a lovely chair for $12.00 and a beveled glass mirror for $5.00. Guess I’ll have to learn to be MORE grateful for the small things I find!

On Monday my husband and I plan to go together to Reits Flea Market…so……maybe I’ll have better luck there.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

