Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | June 3, 2012

Day Tripping and Two Great Shops

A small taste of Not So Shabby, Zeeland, MI

Yesterday on my way to pick up my three-year-old granddaughter for her extended visit, I scheduled some garage sales into my day. I stopped in the old-fashioned small town of Zeeland, MI, looking for inspiration. My instincts told me that I might have better luck finding an affordable chest of drawers there.

I’d heard about a great shop called Not So Shabby: Antiques and Fine Furniture where blogger Shelly Andrade of Shizzle Design www.alittlebitofshizzle.blogspot.com sells her brightly painted furniture (one of my passions too) as well as the line of CC Caldwell paints that she paints with.

I was looking for just the right color of paint for an old wood carrier that I want to paint and I choose CC Caldwell’s. I had taken a pillow and my rug to match and decided upon a great clay-pot-like color called Georgia Clay. The carrier will end up sitting on the white-washed wooden bench in my hallway filled with candles and Glen stones – a crystal and sandstone rock that oddly and magically only finds its way to a particular Lake Michigan beach in my area.

I waked in the large and well lit shop and I fell instantly head-over-heels in love! I found everything I love; home décor, all things handmade, gifts, artwork and refurbished and re-painted furniture. As much “art gallery” as gift shop, more than two dozen vendors feaure hand-made items for sale. It was a feast for my eyes!

The second shop I had hoped to visit, My Favorite Things: Handcrafted Home Furnishings was, unfortunately closed at that time, but looks so intriguing I will definitely be going back. Similar in nature but smaller and owned by one person under the name of SB Designs, this second shop offers interior design services, room staging and a line of repurposed and furniture such as benches, stools, tables and chairs, pillows, painted crates, wall shelves and more.

If you are looking for inspiration this is a day trip worth making!

Oh, and by the way, I found two great treasures; a rock shop set of precious stone book end and an affordable French Provencial bureau. More details about those treasures after I take their photograph.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Donna, Sounds like it was a really fun day! Too bad I don’t live closer, those shops sound really neat. Can’t wait to see the treasures you found! 🙂
    Sharla

    • Sharla, Thanks for visting my website, I appreciate it! The shops are extraordinary!

      I just took picture tonight of the French provinical bureau…will be posted soon.

      I enjoyed your site too.

      Small House / Big Sky Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

