Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | June 5, 2012

If At First You Don’t Succeed…Tool Carrier Painted – Four Times!

This is the ‘before” of the old wooden tool carrier as it came to me.

A PicMonkey collage of the ‘after’ carrier.

Good morning friends!

I have been wanting for some time to paint this tool carrier that sits on the white-washed bench in my homes hallway. The carrier came to me in dark blue with rements of red paint on it (a $5.00 garage sale buy.) I tried painting it in a tan color because I had the paint on hand. It was way too blah and did not stand out on my white-washed husband-made hall bench as I had hoped.

I like the contrast between the natural wood handle and the paint…but…still too blah.

Then I tried painting it in Benjamin Moore, Pecos Spice, the same color as my three storm doors and instead of looking salmon…it just looked pale pink, UG. Not good. I’m feeling jinxed! (At least my photography has gotten better if not my paint selection gene!)

So while at the CC Caldweell’s Paint store in Zeeland, MI last week, I purchased some chalk paint this time around with the intent to paint and wax the carrier, one more time.

Here is the carrier “after” painted with CC Caldwell’s Georgia Clay and waxed with ASCP dark wax. The natural wood handle was also waxed in ASCP dark wax.

This project is actually a ‘test” to see if we like the Georgia Clay color. If my husband agrees, I want to paint our old, oak TV cabinet in the combination. Both rooms have the same color combinations and same Oriental style rugs (in a forest green, gold, rust, and brown color combo) which I think will look wonderful with the Georgia Clay color.

Do you like this color or is it too wild? It looks more metalic in this edited photograph that it does in real life.

Here is the carrier in daylight with the candles and Glenstones that will be displayed in it. Aren’t those Glenstones magical?

And, here is the vignette of tool carrier, stones, crocks and my handmade paper artwork as displayed in our entrance hallway…ah la very casual mudroom style!

Lesson learned? If at first you don’t suceed…try and try and try and try again!

As always, I appreciate you checking in with Small House Under a Big Sky! And, please forgive the earlier partial post. My three-year-old granddaughter is visiting and my time is not my own this week!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

