Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | June 9, 2012

Treasures at Last

Yesterday’s Treasures

After almost reaching the “beginning to despair” stage that I would never find affordable furniture in my neck of the woods, I finally found some treasures today. Since none of the “standard” places to look (flea markets, garage sales, estate sales, Craig’s List) were working for me, I decided try the unconvential. I explored a local swop meet with over 100 vendors that seemed that it could have possibilities.

My husband, grand daughter and I went to the Michigan Fly Wheeler’s Swop Meet in South Haven, Michigan. While most of the merchandise for sale was indeed old tools, tractor parts, vintage metal items, guns and other guy stuff, I did score some affordable furniture projects to paint. Yea!

This is an organization and small museum dedicated to the restoration and preservation of antique gas and steam engines and tractors. There were lots of wonderful gears, metal wheels, oil lamps (al la Funky Junk Interiors) and what-a-ma-call-its but I was on the prowl for furniture!

Here’s what I found and brought home to my art studio.

Round, Three-Shelf Side Table $8.00. This is the first piece I bought and I envison it painted in ASCP Graphite.

8 Sided Mirror $2.00  I found this piece second and I am seeing this in ASCP Old Gray with ASCP Old White painted with a dry brush.

Two-Tiered Provincial Tea Table $2.00  This is definitely another ASCP Graphite or CC Caldwell’s Black Caramel.

Primitive Cabinet $20.00. This is a gorgeous primitive piece with inset panels. This cabinet will likely be a challenge to finish off as the inside has mold and the top has oil on it. My guess is that it was in someone’s barn or shop and was used to hold storage items including oil. It has funny holes drilled in the sides… that’s a mystery. I am wondering if this is a stand alone wall hung cupboard (my vote) or the top part of a two piece unit? Does anyone have any input?

And last but not least….a $5.00 Radio Flyer wagon for my granddaughter!

These items are shown above in a PicMonkey collage of the ‘before’s’… stay tuned as the months progress for the ‘after’s.’

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

