Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | June 10, 2012

d Secret and Safe Products to Remove Mold from Wood

My granddaughter left yesterday. It is so quiet here it’s almost scary. She is the light of my life and I love her to pieces but she is in the three-year-old “why”stage so the chatter was constant. If you’ve been through it, you understand.

I’m quite a bit behind on my chores with her extended visit so I got up very early and headed outdoors to weed. Oh, and I also did two loads of wash and hung the clothes out on the line to dry. It’s heading into the 90’s today so I made pasta salad (pasta, chicken, boiled eggs, fresh kale and grape tomatoes) for dinner this morning early before the real heat arrived. We do not have air conditioning so washing and cooking is done early in the day here. By 10 a.m. it was too hot to work outside any longer. I headed inside to straighten up, put away the kiddy potty, and generally ‘un-grandchilded the house.’ Then I did some heavy cleaning and a light refrigerator wash-out.

My DH (dear husband) and I carried the new wall cupboard out and placed it in the sun today. I want to let the heat and sun work on the mildew odor. I will be spraying it with Basic G before I paint so I am confident that any mold or mildew spores will be gone before it finds its new home.

If you follow my blog, you know how dedicated I am about using only safe, organic products or essential oils in my home. This means organic, toxic-free soaps, cleaners, dish and clothes washing soaps and the like. It might just surprise you to realize just how may everyday items in our home are toxic!

For this reason, I don’t use ordinary household bleach as it is a toxic material  and on the ‘banned’ list. Not only do I not want to ingest bleach spray into my lungs, I don’t want it in my ground water. We use a well for our water (filtered with a very good Amway filter) so I am also very careful what goes into my body as well as our water pipes or grey water tank.

So what will I use to remove mold/mildew from this cupboard? There are a number of commercial products at the hardware store, but they are chemical based. Instead, I’ll be using an arsenal of safer products; including OxyClean to remove the oil residue from the wood and Basic G, made by the Shaklee Company to remove any possible mold spores.

Basic-G, (G for germicide) if you are not familiar with it, is organic and safe to use.  It comes undiluted and I dilute it one to ten in a heavy plastic spray bottle. After our recent spring flooding, I know first-hand that this stuff works. I used it on mildew on wall paint, mold in our crawl space and on black mold that came up from under my 3-seasons porch floor and in many other places. It literally kills the spore’s d-e-a-d. This is the only product that has worked for me.

This is what the bottle of Basic-G says: “Concentrated germacide that disinfects, cleans and deodorizes. Effective against these pathogens; Salmonella, Chylamdia, Listeria, Staphloccus, MRSA, Strep and more.’

Do not be afraid of this product but use outside and take precautions as it can be corrosive to skin and eyes so be sure to wear rubber gloves, eye goggles. Wash thorough with soap after using.

More details about the new-to-me primitive cabinet and the mold killers in a future post.

TODAY’S FURNITURE PROJECTS:
I waxed a small bar stool that I had painted yesterday in Cece Caldwell’s Georgia Clay and started painting a small, vintage bedside stand.

The stool ‘after’ painted but seat not yet covered.

The $5.00 stool ‘before.’ Boy was that that old fabric something ugly!

Close up of the stool legs after painted and waxed with ASCP dark wax.

Next I need to find the right fabric to cover the stool top and that means a 45 minute drive to a fabric store so that is on my “to do” list. I’m thinking about a black and white check or Tattersall, but that will be determined by what I can find at the fabric store. More photographs of the stool to come after the top is completed.

Enjoy your summer!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

