Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | June 23, 2012

Two Mirrors Makeover

I tried my hand at painting mirrors frames this month and I am pretty happy with how they turned out. I learned a lot in the process. I have a sale coming up this fall and I am trying to provide a wide range of items for it. Dates and times of the sale to come at a future time.

I tried painting the first frame using a sheet of paper slipped under the edge of the frame (as read on a couple of blogs) as well as taping them off. I definitely prefer taping, as I found there is much less clean up at the end.

Windex worked well for me to clean paint and wax off of the glass but there was lot of elbow grease involved. I sprayed the cloth, not the glass, just like we do when cleaning the glass of framed photographs.

The gold, smaller frame ‘before.'(With my 150-year-old White Oak trees in reflection.)

The smaller of the two frames was painted with ASCP Dove Gray and finished with AS dark wax. (I just love the reflections of my meadow garden in the mirror, don’t you?)

This is a close up photo of the larger of the two frames that was dry brushed with ASCP Graphite and then Versailles followed by waxing with AS clear wax. Both frames were well waxed for protection.

Do you like the Dove Gray or the Graphite and Blue dry brushed frame better?

Thanks as always for tuning into my blog!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

