Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | July 8, 2012

Craig’s List Sideboard

Yesterday I finally made a real Craig’s List score – an early 1900’s vintage sideboard/buffet/server.

I have seen several of these lovely old ladies on blogs, beautifully painted and I have been longing to get my hands on one and give it a try.

This one has the sweetest raised carvings, the delicate back board and a sliding out silverware tray AND original brass drop hardware. (I think someone thought they were helping by cleaning the gorgeous patina off of the hardware but I’ll be able to age those again, I think.) Any suggestions out there from bloggers who have actually done this? If aging doen’t work with brass then spray paint will do the trick.

 Curved apron, carved wood and original brass pulls.

Chunky turned legs, bun feet and sturdy stretchers.

This old girl needs just some TLC and wood filler where the veneer has chipped off but I think we can bring her back to life. While my dear husband is filling and sanding, I will ponder the colors I want to paint her but it will definitely be chalk paint and wax.

The day was a steamy 100+ degrees outside and once we picked her up, brought her home and laid her on her side to sanitize it a bit in the sunshine we didn’t have the energy to pick her back up for a standing photograph. So the photographs were taken lying down but you’ll get the overall idea.

If you have information about period or style, I appreciate knowing that. Stay tuned….

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Loving your blog, I could get lost for hours 😉 I’ve done a few sideboards myself and blogged about them. Great sellers! I have another in my garage awaiting my attention. Custom orders come first. Can’t wait to see what you do with it 🙂

    • Titia, Thanks for your comments and for visting small house under a bg sky blog. I sure do appreciate my readers!
      This sideboard needs quite a bit of repair before I can paint it, so it might be a while. My husband (who still works) does the prep work and I paint. I paid too much for it but had been wanting to restore one for a long time.

      I’m curious to know what colors are your best sellers? What part of the country do you live in (I know its Canada but where in Canada?) Would you mind sharing the approximate price that these babies fetch in your area? I still have trouble with pricing hand painted furniture.

      How lucky you are to have custom orders!! How many years did it take to get to this point?

      Thanks for stopping in today and check back in when you can!


Leave a Reply

Categories

