Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | July 16, 2012

The Creativity Gene

“It seems that out culture has always had it backwards. Creativity isn’t a thing you acquire. In reality it’s the removing of the sandbags that have always been laid on you by the culture and freeing yourself of the constraints that you’ve been programmed to deal with. If you can let the creativity move through you, and you are a vehicle for itt you can allow yourself to be.” Patrick O’Connell on creativity from Culinary Artistry.

A PicMonkey collage created using photographs I took last week while on my R & R get-away.

I have always been a creative person. While I am pretty new at hand-painting furniture, I have always refinished furniture. My very first small business, when my children were still pre-school age, was buying and reselling vintage items at the local flea market. I’ve always shopped garage sales and flea markets and collected and bought right and made a small profit. Even during my at-home years, I gardened, sewed, cooked, designed and developed products and sold them.

I spent 19 years running an advertising and marketing agency where I created logos’, letterhead, newsletters, annual reports as well as radio and television commercials fo small businesses. While the pay was good, the satisfaction was just not there and I did not like sitting behind a computer 8 to 10 hours a day.

Then for more than 30 years I worked as a writer and photographer, studying film based art photography and lost photographic hand-printing processes like photographing landscapes with infrared film, developing and printing those images and  then hand-painting those art prints. That work I loved.

When I left my former home and job in 2000, I just wanted to work with my hands again in a low-tech but more highly satisfying way again. I began to recreate a new life and reinvented my lifestyle so that my husband and I could both create again in an artistic way instead if with technology.

For the past 15 years I created two-dimension canvas artwork using my handmade papers. This was amost all done with my two hands.  I built and started an arts and crafts gallery and sold the work of 25 other artists so I know how this process works. While I loved developing products, between running the business (and home and garden responsibilities) I barely had the time or the energy to create new work.

I have devoted myself to the creative process in one form or another all of my life and truthfully that is all I have wanted to do. Running a creative business has been a thrilling, scary and yet, highly satisfying way to live.

If you are an artist, the creative process is life-giving and as necessary as breathing.  I don’t know for sure where it came from, but I have that gene, do you?

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

