Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | July 17, 2012

The Business Stuff

Even furniture painters who sell their work at some point have to stop painting long enough to take care of the business end of the business. I understand that it is definitely not the fun part.

This means creating business cards, hang tags, rack cards and the like. Some of the younger artists I know find that creating blogs and websites come naturally, but not the printed “collateral materials” mentioned above.

While I may be new to the furniture selling business, I’ve been self-employed all of my adult life. And I helped many a business owner promote their business in print and in the electronic media when I owned the marketing company, Words & Pictures.

I’ve been working on my hang tags this week and think I finally have the kinks worked out. I’ve been collecting hang tags for some time and find that not everyone sees things the same way I do. I noticed, oddly enough, that some hang tags do not have the artists contact information on them. Frankly, I can’t imagine why anyone would make a hang tag without giving the prospect the ability to contact them easily?

Here is my new hang tag. What do you think?

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. What are the hang tags used for?

    • Hang tags are the small piece of paper/card stock that attach (or hang on it – hence the name) to the product you are selling. Hang tags give details about the piece itelf, how made/where made, giving the manufacture or artists contact information etc.

      You probably see them on almost every product you buy, but it just doesn’t register.

      Thanks for asking! And, thanks so much for reading my blog!

      Small House / Big Sky Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

