Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | July 18, 2012

Tea Table – Fluent in French

I’m not usually all that attracted to French furniture. I’m more of a primitive American antique kind of gal. But there is something about this table…its simplicity, its versatility and the way I thought I might paint it, so I took the plunge.

Emma, the French Provincial tea-table transformed.

I feel that this piece could be used as a tea-table, coffee table or entry table and the bottom shelf could hold magazines, a basket, decorative items and much more. Or, if you had a spacious bedroom with a sitting area, it could be perfect there, no?

When I lifted it I knew it was quality… it was heavy! Its condition was quite good, with only scratches on the top that I knew would sand right out. The maple grain on top is very compact and I love the dimension and beautiful grain of the wood after staining and sealing.

The table “during” – the hard maple top has been sanded.

The hardest thing about this makeover was deciding on the stain for the table top. I’m not especially fond of a real dark stain so I wanted to go somewhat medium in tone but after multiple testing of Jacobean and dark walnut stain on the underside of the top, I chose Dark Walnut The sanding took a bit more time and effort that I had originally thought it might but we got the job done.

Stain testing… Jacobean or dark walnut?

When I started to paint this table, I used ASCP Graphite as my undercoat followed by Provence dry brushed followed by two coats of clear wax. The top was heavily sanded followed by two coats of Minwax Polycrylic (non- yellowing) then I painted the thin edge by hand and underside in Graphite.

I tried something different on this piece and dry brushed the Provence blue on the inside of the legs for a touch of spice and left some of the blue tones peeking through along the seams of the lower “tray.”

 A very light distressing and she is done. Thirty days to cure and off she goes to my outlet, Farmhouse Chic in Glen, Michigan.

The finished piece again. Maybe I am fluent in French after all!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

My hand-painted furniture transformations and handmade papers can both be purchased at Farmhouse Chic in downtown Glen, Michigan. The shop is located at 6998 114th Ave. in the old Glen fire station next door to the Conklin Real Estate office. From South Haven, take Blue Star Highway North to 114th Ave. (the main four corners in Glen) and turn right. The shop is on your right hand side.

My furniture pieces are painted with either Annie Sloan or CeCe Caldwell’s eco-friendly chalk paint and protected with multiple coats of soft wax. Some are hand-distressed for a gently aged, shabby-chic look; some are dry brushed for an antiqued, one of a-kind look Both paints are 100% Natural and biodegradable without VOC’s or harmful chemicals. Keep in mind that my pieces are vintage or antique and may have nicks or bumps. I feel that this adds to their charm and I embrace their beauty and character. If you like my style of painting and have a piece of furniture you’d like transformed just let me know. Custom painting of your furniture is available by special quote. Just contact me at 269-236-5121.

Farmhouse Chic shop hours are Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Call Melissa Renwa or Lisa Reynolds at 616-403-4576.

Think farmhouse chic and farmhouse fun!!

Responses

  1. This is gorgeous.

    • Thank you, you are so kind. It’s kind of funny because I have only been painting furniture for six months and this is one of the first pieces I ever did and the first one I left the top unpainted/stained. And my first time of using ASCP Graphite and Provance. I jus love Annie Sloan AND Cece Cauldwell’s Chalk Paint!!

      I delivered it to my new outlet at 10:00 a.m. and by 3 pm. the sameday I received an e-mail telling me it had sold!! I was thrilled and it went to its new home in Iowa.

      BTW: I visted your blog and just love your tag line, family, home and furniture! Way cute!!

      Thanks for reading my blog, I do appreciate it.

      Small House / Big Sky Donna (In Michigan)


Leave a Reply

Categories

