Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | July 23, 2012

Just a Old Porch Chair

I just finished painting this old porch chair. It’s nothing fancy but I can just see it on the big open front porch of an old farmhouse or a lakeshore cottage. It’s like a cheerful greater that says “Welcome to our home!”

Provence and Graphite is my current favorite combo.

Before I bought this chair it had actually been sitting for a short time in the garden with a plant on it before being brought to a shop. The grain was raised from the water but with ASCP I just knew I could give it a new life, and I think I did.

Like some of my more casual painted pieces it has a few imperfections that I happen to like and hope that you do too. I just love the color combo of Graphite and Provence. I painted it Provence all over and then hand painted the Graphite trim and ampersand graphic and then waxed in ASCP clear wax. It is imperfectly imperfect and I like that for a distinctly country feel.

It’s cheerful and bright and shouts “Hello, stop in for a visit” even from the car as you drive by!

This piece will be for sale at my outlet, Farmhouse Chic in Glen. They are open Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday 8 a.m. ish to 7 p.m. ish. Look for it out front!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

My hand-painted furniture transformations and handmade papers can both be purchased at Farmhouse Chic in downtown Glen, Michigan. The shop is located at 6998 114th Ave. in the old Glen fire station next door to the Conklin Real Estate office. From South Haven, take Blue Star Highway North to 114th Ave. (the main four corners in Glen) and turn right. The shop is on your right hand side.

My furniture piece are painted with either Annie Sloan or CeCe Caldwell’s eco-friendly chalk paint and protected with multiple coats of soft wax. Some are hand-distressed for a gently aged, shabby-chic look; some are dry brushed for an antiqued, one of a-kind look Both paints are100% Natural and biodegradable without VOC’s or harmful chemicals. Keep in mind that my pieces are vintage or antique and may have nicks or bumps. I feel that this adds to their charm and I embrace their beauty and character. If you like my style of painting and have a piece of furniture you’d like transformed just let me know. Custom painting of your furniture is available by special quote. Just contact me at 269-236-5121.

Farmhouse Chic shop hours are Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Call Melissa Renwa or Lisa Reynolds at 616-403-4576.

Think farmhouse chic and farmhouse fun!!

Responses

  1. this looks fantastic! i love it!!!!

    • Cat,

      Thanks so much for your kind comment about the graphic/painted porch chair. I’ll admit the idea is not my own, but a copied one but it was sure fun to do.

      I jumped on your blog and checked it out..Australia, wow a world away.

      I appreciate that you visited my humble blog and hope you’ll stop in now and again!

      Enjoy the journey as much as the destination.

      Small House / Big Sky Donna
      https://smallhouseunderabigsky.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

