Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | July 25, 2012

Shield Back Chair Makeover

Decorator Lindsey Harper of Cartersville, GA says “Every room should have a little something unexpected in it.”

Here is my unexpected… a shield back chair painted in ASCP Emperor’s Red!

This vintage chair that came to me as a “freebie” thrown in with a purchase of a $20.00 farmhouse table. It was a typical unpainted chair in mahogany stain with an old and crummy upholstered seat.

Image

The chair “before.”

Image

My shield back chair after painted but before waxed and recovered.

I cleaned it up and painted it with ASCP Emperor’s Silk, dipped its feet in ASCP Old White and recovered it using one of two large pillow covers bought from a nearby resale shop for just $5.00. This chair has been waxed in ASCP dark wax.

The finished chair. This is the third piece in the three-piece set that will grace my office once the old metal corner desk has been sold.

Thanks for checking in today, dear readers!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Fantastic! Love the colour!

    • Good morning Red Candy,

      I just sent you a longish reply when I opened up my e-mail this morning to see that you are my new follower. Thank you! I sure hope you receive it.
      I love that deep red too. It’s Annie Sloans Chalk Paint, Emperor’s Silk. It’s BRIGHT when first painted but burnishes down to the lovliest deep color when waxed in her dark wax. I think its one of my favorites colors of her paint.

      Have a great day and enjoy the journey of fixing up your lovely rental home. And, thanks again for reading Small House Under a Big Sky.

      Small House / Big Sky Donna
      https://smallhouseunderabigsky.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

