Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | July 27, 2012

The Vintage Blue/Green Mini-Cabinet

I’ve been experimenting with custom mixing my Ce Ce Cauldwell’s paints. I started with deeply colored Maine Blue and Alaska Tundra green and have come up with what I think is a very rich and pleasing blue/green combo. I call it Pictured Rocks Green for the unique green tones that are found in the water in the UP due to the iron ore found there.

The cabinet after paint and dark wax.

This the most glorious shade of blue/green I have ever experienced. While this color photographs light blue, my eyes see a blue/green that is sumptuous. You’ll have to trust me on this.

I found this cabinet at a vintage barn sale this spring and spotted the great carvings, apron, legs and stretchers. While I wasn’t sure what the cabinet was once used for (an old radio cabinet maybe?) In spite of the serious water stain on the inside I knew that it was exactly what I was looking for to paint and distress.

The cabinet “before” in its mahogany stained ugly duckling turned swan ugliness.

I adore this era’s decorative scrolls, medallions, stretchers and carved legs.

I can see this piece in a hallway to collect purses and keys, or in a bathroom holding a large stack of lush towels.

One last peak at the completed project.

Do you like these bright colors or do you prefer the more subtle ones?

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

