Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | July 29, 2012

The Weekends Find’s

I have continued to search for 6 matching chairs and, of course, the all illusive “affordable” vintage dresser and this weekend I found them within two miles of my home.  Go figure!

This lovely old vintage dresser with “potential” was sitting in a local pole barn just waiting for me!

A friend told me that another friend was selling off her mother’s estate. My inquiry ended up with 6 matching oak chairs and this sweet little solid oak dresser (probably 80 to 100 years old) with its original wooden mushroom pulls and all the original hardware including three keyholes. Yes!

Dimensions: 33″ high, 33″ tall, 16″ wide.

Someone scratched their name in the front of the piece and the base of two out of three drawers will have to be glued together again, but heck…I hope I can be in this good of shape when I am 80+ years old!

This dresser has three vertical side panels that I mostly see in a horizontal format so that will be interesting to paint in a two-tone effect. I am hoping that once completed, this dresser just might fit an empty wall in our family room. If it fits, and stays here with me, it will become a much-needed storage piece.

Once restored, it will either be painted in ASCP Emperor’s Silk with dark wax or ASCP Provance with dark wax. When Provance is finished this way the aqua turns into a lovely blue/green color. That color should go well with my older but still serviceable Ethan Allen sea-foam green sofa and chair.

The chairs: Along the line someone replaced the cane seats with stained wood panels and two of the six, sturdy, oak chairs need a bit of gluing and repairs and will be eventually sold with a gate leg table when painted. Colors to be determined.

Two of the 8 vintage oak chairs with vintage charm galore.

Not a bad haul for one phone call, a two-mile drive and $50.00.

Thanks for stopping by my small house under the big Michigan sky!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Fab finds! Love the chairs, and I’m sure that with a little love and attention the dresser will look ship-shape and fabulous!

    • Thanks. I do happen to think the dresser is pretty fab too (as you can tell by my enthusiam on the blog)! I’ll be posting it later on after its done. And, thanks for visiting my small house blog! I do appreciate it.

      Small House / Big Sky Donna

  2. Wonderful finds for a great price! Congratulations! 🙂

    • So nice of you to vist and comment. I am thrilled not only by the piece itself but the price is pretty great too!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Small House / Big Sky Donna

  3. GREAT FINDS!!!!!! xxx Cat

  4. Thanks Cat! I feel kind of “rewarded” for such long search. And here that dresser was, just a few miles from home. What a great surprise that was!

    Thanks for stopping by the small house under a big sky!

    Small House / Big Sky Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

