Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | August 5, 2012

French Mirror Layered with Old World Finish

I found this great mirror at an estate sale along the blue coast of Lake Michigan.

The French mirror “after.”

When I got in the studio I wanted to do something different from the other mirrors I have painted in the past. I’ve been reading about Shelly of http://alittlebitofshizzle.blogspot.com Shelly has a unique way of layering paints and has developed a lovely “old world finish” technique and I decided to give that technique a try. Thank you Shelly for being so sharing with your methods and your very personal style!

First I masked off the glass with painter’s tape. Next I painted just the rose clusters in CeCe Caldwell’s Hershey brown. Then I painted the entire remaining frame area in ASCP  Provance. The next day I lightly dry brushed the rosette areas with the Provance, letting just a tiny bit of the original gold paint show through for a touch of elegance. Then I waxed the whole mirror in ASCP dark wax and whalla.

If any of you have worked with ASCP Provance and dark wax you might know that the bright aqua turns a kind of aqua/green patina, almost like bright copper developes a lovely green Verdigris toned patina after time outside in the elements. This is exactly what I wanted for my final color.

One gorgeous French Mirror, if I do say so myself!

Dimensions:

  • Width: frame to frame 30 and ¾”
  • Tall: (to tip of Fleur De Le) 28”

Thanks for reading!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Beautiful job on a gorgeous mirror! 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for your kind comments. This mirror was fun to make-over. Its is in my consignment gallery, Baker Allegan Studios, in Allegan, MI, and I am now hoping it sells!

    I always appreciate reader’s and their comments! Thanks!

    Small House / Big Sky Donna

  3. What a great find!

    • Thank you kindly for your comment. I love a great find, don’t you!

      Thanks for stopping in at the small house under a big sky.

      Small House / Big Sky Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

