Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | August 12, 2012

My Search for Consignment Shops – A Victorian Era Dresser

I’ve been really working hard this month on locating possible consignment shops for my hand-painted furniture and vintage smalls. It’s been a whirlwind of Internet research, e-mail letter writing, follow-up call to set appointments and in-person visiting.

My Internet search yielded four reasonable possibilities for my hand-painted furniture consigning so I arranged a day in the area for visiting. I spent a very l-o-n-g day on the road along the lakeshore of West Michigan visiting shops and of course checking out resale shops in the area. I centered my search on Holland, Grand Haven, Muskegon and Spring Lake area that enjoys many summer visitors, tourists and second home owners. I believe that these home owners are one of my primary target markets.

On the same trip I picked up a beautiful Craig’s List dresser. This three-drawer dresser of mahogany has rather unusual and original Victorian style hardware (ca 1800?) and the piece de le resistance, ta da…three ornate keyhole hardware that made the piece worth the drive to me. This dresser is in quite good shape and will require just a quick stripping of the top and front then re-staining of that area and painting of the drawers.

Dresser front above and then the back.

Love the keyhole hardware!

Five round edge flowers decorate the ornate handles.

I’m not sure of the date of this piece so if anyone has any additional information I’d appreciate hearing from you. The seller thought it was from the 1950’s but I think it is a quite a bit earlier than that. This piece has panel board on the back, inset side panels, tongue and grove drawers and stands on white porcelain rollers; all elements which should, I believe, help to determine its age.

The dimensions of this dresser are 40”long, 17 ¾” wide and 32″ high. This piece will need to find a good “adoptive home” after it is painted.

I also visited my favorite ASCP stock list shop, R. Lucas, Scott in Holland, MI in the Holland Towne Center http://www.rlucusscott.com for more paint and a second wax brush, this time for clear wax. I bought Old Ochre, the new ASCP paint as a neutral and can’t wait to try it. I have recently been using Coco, another new to me neutral and absolutely adore this color. I have already painted two small pieces using Coco (that now await new cushion covers) and have several other pieces set aside just waiting for repairs before I paint them in Coco.

I haven’t made a final decision as to whether I’ll consign my work outside or reopen the While Oak Gallery building, or do both. I’m am still gathering and weighing the facts. Stay Tuned.

If you are interested in commissioning a piece or buying a restored antique, vintage piece of hand-painted furniture or decorative home accessory featured on this blog, please contact me or send a reply to this post. Thanks!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

