Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | September 3, 2012

Smoky Mountain Dresser- Diamond in the Rough to Shiny

Greetings readers!

If ever a much-loved piece needed a “do-over,” this dresser was it. I found this vintage piece through a Craig’s listing and had to make quite a long drive for it.  It was one of four pieces I picked up from that same owner on that same day.

The three-drawer cottage dresser “after” its make over.

This was the first time I have painted with Cece Caldwell’s Smoky Mountain color which I discovered looks gray outside but a lovely blue/gray in indoor light. This color is gorgeous! I am already love this deep and unusual color!

Accent painting – the details – the part I love with beautifully made vintage furniture.

Since this chest had obviously been used a bit, I first I cleaned the piece thoroughly and set it outside in the sunshine for several days to air it out.

A diamond in the rough just waiting to be polished!

When I was ready to paint, I painted outdoors in the sunshine and to my surprise I was able to paint the main coat and the first coat on the six wooden knobs – all in one long day. The following day I painted the second coat on the outside, inside the drawers, the second coat on the knobs and did the “accent painting” on the legs and front. Painting those three good-sized drawers was quite a big job and all together this piece required a half of a qt. of ASCP Old White. Whew!

I’ve been studying dressers when I am out shopping and buying paint. I’ve discovered that most painters do not paint the inside of their drawers. But if the piece is old and worn, I think painting “refreshes” them like it did in this case, especially if the piece is vintage and has been around the block.

A closer view of drawers and knobs.

It came with painted wooden knobs so I repainted them in ASCP Old White and repositioned them in the original holes, which seem to be set rather high on the drawer front than typical. But I feel this little twist adds to its unique vintage charm.

Dresser Dimensions: 32” long X 30” tall X 18” wide

This is a lovely, lovely color and I can see this refurbished dresser in a cottage to a formal home. If I may say so myself, what a stunning entryway piece to hold a lamp, purse and keys AND to welcome your guests!

This dresser has not yet made it to my outlet due to space limitations. It is currently available at the White Oak Studio. Please contact me for details.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

My hand-painted furniture transformations and handmade papers can be purchased at the following three West Michigan locations:

1)      ALLEGAN, MI: Allegan Baker Studios, 148 Mill District Road, Allegan, MI 49010. Contact 269-903-6883, sowspunsilk@yahoo.com or www.BakerAlleganStudios.com

2)      GLEN, MI Farmhouse Chic, 6998 114th Ave., Glen, MI. The shop is located in the old Glen fire station next door to the Conklin Real Estate office. From South Haven, take Blue Star Highway North to 114th Ave. (the main four corners in Glen) and turn right. The shop is on your right hand side. To e-mail shop contact farmhousechic6996@yahoocom or call cell: 616-403-4576.

3)      SOUTH HAVEN, MI Transformations Art Barn, 81 Blue Star Highway, South Haven, MI 49090, 269-214-4147. More details can be found on their Facebook page at www.facebook.com/TransformationsArtBarn or transformationsartbarn.com

My furniture pieces are painted with either Annie Sloan or CeCe Caldwell’s eco-friendly chalk paint and protected with multiple coats of soft wax. Some are hand-distressed for a gently aged, shabby-chic look; some are dry brushed for an antiqued, one-of-a-kind feel. Both paints are 100% Natural and biodegradable without VOC’s or harmful chemicals.

Keep in mind that vintage or antique furniture transformations may have nicks, bumps or slight imperfections. This is part of their character and charm and I embrace their diversity, beauty and character.  Please understand that handcrafted products are likely to have slight variations in color, texture or finish.

Responses

  1. This chest is lovely, you did a great job. BTW, I always paint the insides of the drawers….gives it a true upcycled clean look.

    • Thank you so much for the compliment! Glad to know other painters out there in blogland also believe in painting the inside of the drawers! It does finish off a piece in a way that not painting does not do.

      Thanks for stopping by the small house under the big sky.

      Small House / Big Sky Donna

  2. Wonderful piece – I love the blend of the two brands of paint. 🙂

    • Thank you for the compliment also. I am finding myself using both CCC and ASCP more and more together as a pairing. It isn’t a conscious choice really, but more about what the colors do together. I just love certain colors together and the brand is secondary, I guess.

      Yesterday I paired Smoky Mountain (CCC) and Coco (ASCP) on a piece…. OMG totally, amazingly gorgeous together! Need to wax and finish the stripes and photograph it.

      Small House / Big Sky Donna

    • Thanks so much. I love those two colors together too. So subtle and ye so very pretty! Thanks for your vist and your comments!

      Small House / Big Sky Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

