Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | September 11, 2012

Petite Knitting Stand Before and After

Greeting fellow painters!

I finally began painting this sweet 1930’s knitting stand.

I have been longing to paint something in an Old Red and Smoky Mountain color combination. While I wasn’t yet ready to commit to doing a large piece in those colors, I knew that a painting a small piece would be a great test.

Yesterday I decide that this knitting stand is just that piece. I picked this up at the annual Porter’s Labor Day Estate Sale and have been dying to test this color combo.

That hole was designed so that the yarn could come through it and not tangle.

My dear husband has been working on this piece in the woodshop for a few weeks. It required quite a bit of gluing and some veneer removal. But it is now in my hands at last.

After looking it over, I decided that I wanted to try a two-tone approach, Old Red inside and on the flip top with Smoky Mountain on the balance. I painted, lightly distressed and then waxed in AS soft clear wax.

I lightly distressed the legs before I waxed.

At first I thought the holes meant it needed decorative pulls But when I got to my “antiues authority” Craig Phillips, owner of B & C Emporium, he expalined that the hole was there so the yarn could be pulled through by the knitter.

This piece still needs its top connected (my husband will hand carve two small wooden pins) attach the top; add the pulls and we are good to go.

This piece is for sale at my SW Michigan outlets below.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

My hand-painted furniture transformations and handmade papers can be purchased at the following three West Michigan locations:

1) ALLEGAN, MI: Allegan Baker Studios, 148 Mill District Road, Allegan, MI 49010. Contact 269-903-6883, sowspunsilk@yahoo.com or www.BakerAlleganStudios.com

2) GLEN, MI Farmhouse Chic, 6998 114th Ave., Glen, MI. The shop is located in the old Glen fire station next door to the Conklin Real Estate office. From South Haven, take Blue Star Highway North to 114th Ave. (the main four corners in Glen) and turn right. The shop is on your right hand side. To e-mail shop contact farmhousechic6996@yahoocom or call cell: 616-403-4576.

3) SOUTH HAVEN, MI Transformations Art Barn, 81 Blue Star Highway, South Haven, MI 49090, 269-214-4147. More details can be found on their Facebook page at www.facebook.com/TransformationsArtBarn or transformationsartbarn.com

My furniture pieces are painted with either Annie Sloan or CeCe Caldwell’s eco-friendly chalk paint and protected with multiple coats of soft wax. Some are hand-distressed for a gently aged, shabby-chic look; some are dry brushed for an antiqued, one-of-a-kind feel. Both paints are 100% natural and biodegradable without VOC’s or harmful chemicals.

Keep in mind that vintage or antique furniture transformations may have nicks, bumps or slight imperfections. This is part of their character and charm and I embrace their diversity, beauty and character. Please understand that handcrafted products are likely to have slight variations in color, texture or finish.

If you desire “perfect” and new than transformed furniture is probably not your thing, But it is definitely mine!

Responses

  1. Love it!

  2. Thank you so much. It’s been a fun project to work on. A 73-year-old friend sent me a post saying she had one like it when she was young, so I am hopefull that I may be able to “date” the piece. Won’t that be cool!

    Thanks so much for following!

    Small House / Big Sky Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

