Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | September 15, 2012

Rescue – Trash to Treasure

This is literally a trash-to-treasure story at its finest.

I spotted this heavy, wooden windsor-like chair, in two pieces next to the trash bin on my way to yoga one morning.  I picked it up threw it in my trunk and took it home. The middle chunk of the chair seat was missing and I found it in the trash bin!  I have no shame – I reached in and fished it out.

The chair seat was in two pieces and the trim along the back was lifted and hanging on by a “thread.”

Before I could even get a “before” photograph my husband had the glue and the clamps on it! So the early photographs are after the gluing was complete but still “in process.”

I think someone used it as a spray painting “booth” as it had neon green and orange spray paint (and a little silver) all over it.  Talk about repurposed furniture – not. Whew!

Glue, sanding and two coats of ASCP Graphite paint with accents of Coco later, plus AS dark wax and it now has a new lease on life.  It’s pretty darn comfortable too!

This piece is for sale through the White Oak Studio or donnaallgaierlamberti@facebook.com. Contact if interested.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Wow, I love how this turned out! I love the paint choice and how you painted it. Great job!

    • Thank you so much for the compliment. I happen to love the clean and classic combo of Graphite and Coco and use I from time to time. They seem a natural combo to me.

      Thanks for stopping in the small house under a big sky!

      Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

