Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | September 25, 2012

Ode to Autumn

Fall decorating at White Oak Acres does not, sadly, look like a magazine spread….

If the truth be told, I’m not much of a holiday mantle decorator. Our home does not have a basement so storage space is very limited. And, at this age if the truth be told, I don’t really want to collect more “stuff” that just has to be sold or distributed some day (I know to a design blogger or collector this is almost sacrilegious!)

Instead, I’d rather decorate my porches or purchase perennials for the garden with my limited retirees budget. This year I purchased three large, gorgeous pink mums for my fall color and since we have had such an early fall here in Michigan (one frost already) these mums are already in the ground.

However, today I’ve selected some nice autumn photographs from the White Oak archives for you to enjoy.

We are now quite busy getting this old house ready for another Michigan winter. For us this means storm doors swapped out, furnaces cleaned, oiled and turned on, five birdbaths cleaned and stored and the hot tub set up (which did not start yesterday and will now require two service calls; one from the electrician and another from the hot tub company for needed repairs. And this is just the beginning!

With old house, like old cars and old bodies, something always need repairing!

I dug into my archives and pulled out some fall decorating photographs from years past. Enjoy!

Happy Autumn!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

