Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | October 12, 2012

A Touch of Class – French Provincial Side Table

Most of the time refinishing furniture is very satisfying. Sometimes it’s downright exciting. Like when a piece turns out better than expected. When the piece you’ve been working on takes on a life of its own and goes well beyond what you had planned.

Side view of the delicate pairing of Coco and Smoky Mountain.

That is the story of this maple French provincial end table. I bought it at the annual Labor Day Porter’s Estate Sale. I was looking for vintage furniture that did not require serious repair or workshop time as the woodshop was really backed up at that time.

The French provinical table “before” is on the far left.

Curved legs, center shell detail and original metal pulls. Yum!

I have always loved the ASCP color Coco. I think it is a very underutilized neutral and I am in the experimental stage of painting it with each of the contrasting colors I have in my paint cabinet. It is now time to pair it with CCC Smoky Mountain, another favorite of mine.

This piece features a narrow drawer and a pull out board, likely for a cup of tea.

I began by masking off the metal side grids and then painted a coat of Coco over the entire piece. Then I began to accent areas with the Smoky Mountain and was I ever pleased. The pairing gave this piece a touch of elegance that I never expected and truly fit the formality of the French provincial style.

Where would you place this elegant looking piece; bedroom, boudoir or living room?

The Smoky Mountain went on almost transparent, like a translucent metallic paint but dried into a soft and subtle touch of elegance.

The top is leather but it had a serious burn on it so took a deep breath and painted over the entire top. It worked! The burn mark just disappeared.

There were also a few rough spots in the leather that I wanted to mask so I very slight sanded them away. Two thin layers of ASCP soft clear wax and it was done.

I adore the finished look and hope you do to!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

