Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | October 18, 2012

Vintage Parlor Table Makeover

This vintage parlor table was painted in CeCe Caldwell’s Michigan Pine.

This parlor table has been sitting “naked” in my three seasons porch for about twelve years and this week finally got its” make over.”  The impetus was taking the Shizzle Design painting class a few weeks ago and I needed a piece compact enough that I could carry it in myself (the criteria). So I choose this personal project that I knew I planned to keep. (I keep so very few.)

I was told this table had been languishing in an attic for at least eight years before I bought it ten years ago for the former White Oak Studio & Gallery as a display piece and then it ended up in the corner of my three seasons porch. Through the years the sun and rain has pretty much mottled the table top in spite of some kind of soft and old finish on it.

The table before, dry and scratched but a diamond in the rough waiting to be polished.

Looking close you can see the water spots and large scratch.

My dear husband spent quite a bit of time carefully sanding the veneer top for me.

I decided early on that the beautiful butterfly veneer top would be stained, sealed and left unpainted. I felt this wood is just too extraordinary to cover up with paint. I didn’t know then what I would do with the base.

The furniture on my porch is what I term “gravel-road-dirt-friendly.” My furniture is covered in dry-cleanable canvas weight fabric of black and forest green. The floor is an easy to vacuum poured river rock in a mosaic of colors of soft gray, yellow, white and pale salmon. Once I got to the painting class I had pretty much decided on a base of Michigan Pine green. One coat of CeCe Caldwell’s Michigan Pine and a wet rag to distress. It was just that simple.

Once I got home, I pulled out the Minwax stain and chose a Golden Oak stain to play up the similar colored wood tone that peeks through the Michigan Pine paint on the legs and stretchers.

Now why did a simple project like this take so long? Ha.

Thanks for visiting my small house under a big sky!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. I love Minwax! I love how this turned out!

  2. Thanks so much! Minwax with stain and sealer in it is a real time saver!
    Small House / BIg Sky Donna

  3. Gorgeous! Nice job Donna.

  4. […] I realized this was the color I had been waiting for! You can read about that adventure here; https://smallhouseunderabigsky.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/vintage-parlor-table-makeover/  […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

