Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | November 1, 2012

Made in Allegan,MI

A close up of the painted and distressed turned legs. Isn’t that paint gorgeous!

Made in Allegan, MI:It’s been a whirlwind week. I haven’t been feeling too well, apparently having caught the crud that has been going around my community. And yet I’ve been working like crazy preparing my inventory, writing/printing/gluing my hang tags, and generally getting items ready to go to my new outlet. The shop opens November 9, and I need to have my inventory ready and in place before that!

The new store, located at 229 Hubbard St.,  is called, “Made in Allegan” (obviously I live in Allegan County, MI.) This gift shop will feature an eclectic offering of handmade/handcrafted items made by Allegan area artisans and crafters.The owner, Kas Hilliard says she wants it to be a fun experience for vendors and shoppers alike. Retail hours are Thursday thru Sunday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. www.madeinallegan.com or 269-650-7359.

The Vista Print Experience: Today I designed and ordered new business cards on-line from Vista Print. This was quite an experience after years of specifying collateral materials for my advertising agency but doing things the old-fashioned way; with thumbnail sketches, thumbing through Pantone color rack to select just the right color and running to and from the printer, usually doing a “in person” press run to make sure the customers chosen colors were absolutely perfect.

I also finally figured out how to get this image taken by my friend Shelly from Shizzle Design and getting it to copy the way I wanted to so it would be available to use. This vintage parlor table was the one I painted in her October painting workshop. The base is by the way, painted in CeCe Caldwell’s Michigan Pine. The top has now been stained and sealed and the table now sits in my three-season porch.

This informal snapshot was taken of me at a recent painting workshop.We were instructed to wear our painting clothes. My painting jeans has a hole in the knee! To bad the work table wasn’t an inch higher.

Close up of a part of the leg with the distressing. I used a wet rag to distress.

At the Shizzle Design painting workshop.

The completed table was painted with CeCe Caldwell Michigan Pine chalk paint on the base and Minwax stain and sealer on the restored butterfly veneer top. It doesn’t show up well in this photograph, but I lightly distressed the base using a wet towel to remove some of the paint for a slightly shabby look.

Have a good week everyone and don’t forget to turn back your clocks this weekend! (Spring forward/Fall back.)

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. It’s gorgeous Donna! I love the Michigan Pine with the butterfly veneer top. Nice job.

  2. Hey, thank you so much for your compliment! I am eternally gratefull for the original craftsman who made that amazing table top.

    Small House / Big Sky Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

