Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | November 4, 2012

Guest Post Opportunity

I just had my first guest blog printed. I am geeked!

I found this children’s all wood table and chairs, with a maple top at a garage sale for just $12.00. I transformed it for my three-year-old grand-daughter for just a few dollars of paint.

My words and pictures on hand-painting furniture using chalk paint was published on the blog http://upcountry-living.com/2012/11/2/small-house-under-a-big-sky  The piece is a mix of my personal story and the step-by-step “how to” piece about painting vintage furniture using eco-friendly chalk paint.

A mahogany shield back chair is painted in Annie Sloan Chalk Paint, Emperor’s Silk. This chair was given to me for free and I painted it and recovered the seat with a $2.50 pillow sham from a resale shop.

Upcountry Living, is a blog that is published by Jenna Beaulieu who lives in Northern Maine and has as its slogan “Let it be home.” It is an interesting, learning blog that is dedicated to living the good life at home in a frugal and economical manner; something in these times we can all benefit from.

The introduction (in part) as follows…” UpCountry Living is a great blog that is a proud advocate of embracing passed down goods and knowledge. Saving a buck by repurposing or refinishing a piece of furniture is a prime example of thrift. In Northern Maine, we’re all about thrift,” says Jenna Beaulieu.

I hope you’ll have a moment to visit the link above and enjoy the UpCounty blog philosophy as well.

I am grateful for this opportunity to express my creativity and passion for transforming vintage furniture to a wider audience in a way that teaches and hopefully inspires others.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

