Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | November 13, 2012

Industrial Shop Stools Make Over

These industrial-styled shop stools were a roadside rescue.  The folks who left them had sold their country cottage and had just run out of time and energy to move everything. They left some great stuff along side of the roadway and we happened by at the right time.

Two of the three industrial shop chairs “Before.”

I wash and cleaned them up and spray painted them in Rustroleum primer followed by Rustoleum Metallic Bronze. After much deliberation I decided to paint the 1 ,2 3 graphic numbers on them. I enlarged the numbers using my MS word program until they were the size I wanted to fill in the available space. I cut them out, adhered the cut out number to the chair back using Poster Putty and then traced around the letters with a graphite pencil. Then I painted them freehand using Annie Sloan Chalk Paint, Primer Red.

The stools are slightly different sizes:

Chair # 1: 34” H X Seat 15”W X 18” D

Chair#2: 36” H X Seat 15” W X 18” D

Chair #3 28” H X Seat 14” W X 18” D

I can see these chairs being put to work in a studio or even at a bar in a loft.

I’ve seen them posted on Ebay at $225.00 each unrestored. Yousa! I’m selling mine for $35.00 each.

If you are interested in commissioning a piece or buying a restored antique, vintage piece of hand-painted furniture  or decorative home accessory featured on this blog, please contact me or send a reply to this post. Thanks!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. You should up the price! You could make a killing! Plus, these look great!!

    Also, I’d love for you to swing over to my new Domestic Superhero Facebook page and give it a Like! I would totally appreciate it! http://www.facebook.com/DomesticSuperhero

    • I know this is a great price. It would certainly be different if I had had to pay for them! I strive to keep my prices very affordable because I want to sell things! Plus Michigan is a VERY depressed market and things don’t move here like they do other places.


Leave a Reply

Categories

