Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | November 18, 2012

Th Blue Door New (est) Life

This old five-panel door has been around a long time.

Here it is pictured in my studio. It came to me as a roadside rescue many, many years ago.

When it was sky blue.

When I lived in my other home in Kalamazoo, I used it as a backdrop for Polaroid photo sessions and it made a lovely background with its soft sky blue color and old chippy texture. Then it sat in my studio for at least eight years and displayed hand-constructed wedding invitations made of my plant papers when my building was open as a papermaking studio and fine art gallery.

More recently I painted it in chalk paint when I was learning to paint and wax and needed wood samples to work on. Now, it sits in the studio and greets friends and family that drop in to see what kind of artistic endeavors are going on here.

In process; the panel are taped off with painter’s tape. I left a strip a the bottom “just for fun” to show the original blue color

I painted ASCP Georgia Clay color right over the old blue and then waxed it in dark wax directly over the wood (no clear light wax in between.) The blue turned into a kind of antiqued blue/green color that I like.

My husband, who has the nicest penmanship, printed out these words at my request, “White Oak Studio Welcome.” (I was a lefty that the nun’s turned into a righty, so don’t expect to read my handwriting!)

Some day I hope to use this door to welcome visitors to my own rented booth.

Let’s hear it for a good old White Oak Studio Welcome!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. I love this! What a great way to give an old door a new lease on life.

  2. Thanks Red Candy, I always appreciate your comments!


Leave a Reply

Categories

