Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | December 27, 2012

Early American Candle Box Before and After

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The newly painted candle box as part of my holiday mantle.

This is the last piece of my recent living/dining room update. This isn’t a full room redo just yet, just a bit of paint and a new dresser to change things up. First I painted the drawers on an Empire dresser and then painted the ornate carved mirror that I bought last summer but had not yet hung.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Empire dresser was updated using the luscious Michigan Pine.

Finally, I repainted my second-hand candle box just in time for the holidays and set it on our fireplace mantle as part of our holiday decorations. I bought this two drawer Early American style wooden candle box over a year ago but hadn’t yet found the color I wanted to paint it so that it would be updated while fitting in better with our decor.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The lovely patina and lightly distressing of the Ce Ce  Caldwell’s Michigan Pine.

Then I took a painting class with Shelly at Shizzle Designs last October http://alittlebitoshizzle.blogspot.com/ and tested out this great Michigan Pine chalk paint color by Ce Ce Caldwell.

643883_464691303574576_38176555_n[1]

I realized this was the color I had been waiting for! You can read about that adventure here; https://smallhouseunderabigsky.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/vintage-parlor-table-makeover/ 

If you live anywhere near West Michigan I definitely recommend taking a painting class with Shelly. Not only is it interesting and fun and is held in the personal atmosphere of her Byron Center home, you’ll also learn a lot about paint distressing and layering techniques. Please be sure to tell Shelly I sent you!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the candle box finish when I bought it at the second-hand shop.

When I picked this box up at a resale shop it came to me in a blue/gray stain over a golden oak wood stain. See that blog entry here; https://smallhouseunderabigsky.wordpress.com/2012/03/03/thrist-shop-treasure/

It only took one afternoons work and one coat of CCC Michigan Pine. After it about an hour of drying,  I lightly distressed the edges using a wet towel to remove a bit of paint and let the original finish shine very lightly through. One coat of soft, clear wax and it was done.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Again the “after” finish on the candle box.

Easy peasy as they say in the blog world!

As always, thanks for reading!

Small House /  Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

