Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | January 17, 2013

Matching Headboard Completed

Do you remember the French provincial dresser I showed you way back when? I picked these up on the cheap and transformed them for my granddaughter, Brenna’s big girl bedroom.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Painted using CeCe Calwwell’s chalk paint in Maine Blue and accented with a custom green paint I mixed. The whole set is waxed with ASCP dark wax directly over the chalk paint, no clear wax in between.

PicMonkey Collage French provincial 3 pieces

The before pictures. The traditional Sears French provincial dresser set.

I finally completed painting the matching headboard and footboard. There was no real hurry because Brenna had recently moved from her crib into her CL “big girl bed,” a toddler bed that uses her crib mattress, purchased before the idea of this set even came to be. The matching headboard and footboard will require the purchase of a twin bed mattress at some point so the CL toddler bed was the way to go for now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Headboard and footboard painted to match the dressers completes my grand daughter’s big girl bedroom transformation.

The one hold-up to completion was that the headboard and footboard were missing their finials. What to do? Luckily I found a half dozen, unfinished wood finiels at Goodwill for 39 cents each that I believe are meant to be the end for a drapery rod. Maybe they were meant for drapes but they fit the bedpost frame perfectly and my problem was solved. I painted and waxed them and my husband glued them to the bedposts. Ta da!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The finiel and painted and waxed patina close up.

This was my first attempt at painting a headboard and footboard and I will warn while it looks like simple to paint and wax… but trust me it is not. It is a big job with all the sides and rounded parts, especially in a two-tone combo. That plus the fact that these Sears laminate dressers are very resistant to holding paint and require a primer like BIM 123 AND several coats of the chalk paint.

The blue paint I chose is CeCe Caldwell’s Maine Blue and the blue green is a custom mixed green paint. It is finished in a dark wax right on top of the paint, no clear wax at all. This gave me the rich dark blue/black color I craved that contrasts nicely with my granddaughter’s light blue bedroom walls. I planned for an elegant, timeless look so that her set could take her straight through high school and perhaps even beyond.

Thanks for stopping by!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

