Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | February 16, 2013

A Bittersweet Valentine’s Day

Usually my husband and I celebrate Valentine’s Day with an exchange of small gifts, a nice home cooked meal or better yet, doing something fun or special together.

My all-time favorite exchange was the year we had” his and her” massages in front of our lit fireplace with candle burning and soft music playing. My husband went first, then me and after my massage I popped into bed for a v-e-r-y relaxed night’s sleep soothed by the lavender massage oil and the great feelings of a perfect evening. What a great memory.

This year Valentine’s Day was a bit bittersweet because we had recently had to put my beloved eleven-year-old Labrador “Spirit” down due to cancer. Her eleventh birthday would have been February, 14, Valentine’s Day. It is just too hard to celebrate this year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Valentines love between my husband and our beloved dog Spirit.

But because I couldn’t bear to let the day totally slip away. I baked a homemade, from scratch chocolate cake with homemade chocolate frosting for my husband. The recipe came from the back of the Bakers Cocoa box and my husband the foodies, loved it. I added some fresh coconut to the top to mix it up a bit.

This is what cake is meant to be….melt in your mouth moist and super chocolaty and made with fresh wholesome and real food ingredients.

I also learned that anyone who has ever had a dog they loved  and lost understands this grief. It is a universal feeling.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. So very sorry for your loss. Reminds me of all my beloved dogs who are waiting for me in a better place.

    • Thank you Boyne. Missing her terribly. We were together almost every day of her 11 years. We were on the same wave length and could communicate without words. t tried making the blog not too sad but now I am doing just that. Sorry.


Leave a Reply

Categories

