Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | February 21, 2013

Milk Painted Dresser: Country or Rock and Roll?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Like the vintage Osman family singers, this milk painted dresser is a little bit of country…and a little bit of rock and roll.

Okay, I admit it, I’m a milk paint virgin. This is because I really like the more “finished” look of chalk paint applied and waxed. So I’ve been a bit hesitant to try the less finished, often chippy look of milk paint. But after finding a local source for the Real Milk Paint, a 1800 handmade formula made in Bucks’ County, PA., I decided to give it a whirl.

You likely know this but milk paint is all the rage right now. And, milk paint, in my opinion, is definitely not for the faint of heart! However, I am determined to at least try it as an option and see if it sells in my part of the country. The colors that were available to me were blue and white and I choose blue for this four-drawer, tilt mirror dresser.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This old hard wood dresser, purchased at an auction last summer has a tight grain of undetermined origin, possibly walnut. Though the wood has some figure to it, it also had a very old and odd colored stains on its top and the finish was nearly worn off. The top had a thin crack in the wood and it needed quite a lot of work, so no one else was interested. I was able to scoop it up for just $10.00. With its “repurposed spirit” four VERY deep and roomy drawers, I felt, with some effort, it could be brought back to life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My “child’s room” staging includes a thrift store globe, a homemade hobby-horse covered with brightly colored tissue paper, a large letter “B” and a second-hand art box.

First I set about locating two missing wooden mushroom-style pulls. I found two pulls for the two top drawers at my favorite local vintage hardware shop, B & C Emporium in Allegan, MI.,  b-c-e.biz. Again, I am praising this locally owned and run business since I can affordably replace drawer pulls, hardware, locksets and other types of hardware there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While my husband set about restoring the top of the dresser, I refreshed the inside of the drawers by painting them in several costs ASCP Old Ochre. They took three coats or more than one half of a qt. of chalk paint. Gene sanded off the old finish on the top and the drawer fronts and glued and clamped a small crack on the surface of the top. (He prefers to sand over stripping whenever possible due to less water being used and less of a chance of the veneer unexpectedly lifting up and having to be replaced. If you’ve ever experienced this, you know what a pain that can be.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The top of the dresser has been sanded. Note the missing mushroom pulls and the lovely curves of apron front and side.

This top to this piece isn’t what I’d call “top quality” wood but still it is quite presentable. Being tightly grained this wood did not easily take my stain so before I was satisfied I had used one coat of Minwax dark Walnut, two coats of Jacobean, and a final coat of Ebony before I was satisfied.

Time for milk paint. The Real Milk Paint Company milk paint originated in the 1800’s using a handmade formula made in Bucks’ County, PA. I painted one coat and WOW, and thought, “Whew, this is bright!” In fact I thought, this is much brighter than I had hoped, but there is no going back now. I painted the frame of the piece and reserved the top and drawers for staining. I felt that having about 40% wood stained surfaces would help to tone down the bright blue color and help to make it not so, as we use to say in the 1970’s, psychedelic!

This dresser is special, I think, with its front curved apron, inset side panels and the unusual half-moon-style curved part of the side panel base. Together the dresser style and the bright blue paint make this dresser, as Donnie and Marie Osmund would say, “A little bit of country and a little bit of rock and roll!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After the first coats of paint dried I did a bit of sanding to distress. Some parts came off easily and some parts held like iron. By rubbing my hands over the side panel I could feel that the water in the milk paint had raised the grain somewhat. I ran a dry towel over painted wood and that smooth them down enough for my satisfaction.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was uncertain what wax to use and although I could have purchased some Miss Mustard Seed Hemp Oil I would have had to make a 45 minute drive (each way) to do just that. So I experimented with ASCP dark wax on a test board but did not like it-too dark. Then I tried ASCP clear soft wax. That wax left a bit of a whitish substance on the surface but I decided I could live with it.

As an aside, the milk paint came off easily from my brush though it somewhat tinted the clear wax in the can. But a thick glob of undiluted Palmolive Dish Soap cleaned up the wax brush as well as my hands.

I painted the tops of the wooden pulls and waxed them creating an interesting soft velour-like-surface. The mirror was painted blue and the mirror holder stand was sanded and stained like the rest.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also tested two other wooden items to see how the milk paint performed used under chalk paint. One experiment was a vintage cheese box that I layered first with blue milk paint and then lightly dry brushed with CCC Alaskan Tundra green-love how that turned out!

This four-drawer dresser with a tilt mirror is 40” W X 33” T X 19” D.

It is a very roomy piece with lots of storage in its four deep drawers and would make a great addition to a child’s room, entryway or playroom. This piece is for sale though White Oak Studio Designs. Priced at $190.00.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Cute Donna. I love the bright blue!! 🙂

    • Thank you for your kind comment! I’m still not sure about the brightness of it myself. But do think the wood helps to tone it down a bit! I guess time and customers will tell what my customer base thinks!! Next, I’m going to custom mix up a deep green. I am sure “craving” green!!

  2. Hi. I use a different brand of milkpaint (Old Fashioned MP), but some of my favorite projects were done with a wash of milkpaint over CeCe chalk paint. After waxing (CeCe wax), it has a beautiful finish. I also love having hemp oil around, and use it when the wood was raw to start with. The more I work with milk paint, the more I love it.

    • Thanks for the input Teri. A wash of milk paint over chalk paint, now that IS interesting! Do you have any photographs? I looked for a website but did not see one under the URL section.

      Thanks so much for visiting the small house!

      • You are right, I don’t have a website, and I am the world’s worst photographer. I need to rectify that soon, or start feeling guilty since I lurk around looking at everyone else’s furniture pictures.

  3. This post was perfect timing. I just bought my first milk paint and I am looking for my first project to use it on. Thanks for all the tips! I’m sure I will keep checking back for advice 🙂

    • Thanks for checking out my project. Glad my milk paint dresser experience can help! It’s really different to use than chalk paint-threw me at first. I think I will thin it out more next time as it went on a little thicker than I wanted it to.

      Good luck and have fun with it!!

      Donna Allgaier-Lamberti / White Oak Studio Designs / SW Michigan
      Hand-Painted Vintage Furniture Transformations
      Blog: https://smallhouseunderabigsky.wordpress.com
      Facebook: donnaallgaierlamberti@facebook.com (To see a portfolio of painted pieces for sale)

  4. I really like your dresser! I haven’t tried the milk paint or commercial chalk paints yet, the price is a little beyond what I can afford for resale, so I usually just use a flat latex and finish it with either Minwax or Howards finishing wax, or Minwax wipe on poly. I love the color you ended up with on the wood. Thank you for stopping by my blog, I will definitely be coming back here to read more.

    • I totally hear you about the investment of chalk paint and resale. Because I figure that most anyone can paint with latex paint, I feel I need to do something different and more unusual or they won’t buy from me. My way of cutting costs is to buy furniture at auction and never pay more than $20.00 for any one piece. That makes it tricky, but it can be done. Interesting to see how others see and do. Thanks!

      Stop by when you can!

    • Felicia, I just painted two floor to ceiling bookcases in milkpaint, two coats, inside and out, and barely used any of the paint. I probably used about five dollars worth of powder. Since it was such a big job, I almost opted for latex. I am so glad I didn’t. I love the way they came out. Plus, no smells and easy cleanup.

      • Really good comment. One quart of chalk pain will go a long, long way; several pieces of furniture. An average dresser costs around $12.00-$15.00 worth of paint… tops.

  5. Featured you today!
    Stacey of Embracing Change

    • Stacey, This is my first time to be featured! Thank you so much. Though I have a lots of experience in writing and photography, art and and design, I’ve just been blogging since January 2013. At age 62, I admit I am fairly new at blogging so realize I have MUCH to learn.

      Please share with me what a “featured” person typically does? Can I write about this on Facebook and in my blog? Can we link sites? (I’ve never linked so am not exactly sure how to do his….) Maybe also put your button on my site? (Have never done that either, so any “help” would be appreciated!)

      This is VERY exciting!!

      Donna
      Donna Allgaier-Lamberti / White Oak Studio Designs / SW Michigan
      Hand-Painted Vintage Furniture Transformations
      Blog: https://smallhouseunderabigsky.wordpress.com
      Facebook: donnaallgaierlamberti@facebook.com (To see a portfolio of painted pieces for sale)


Leave a Reply

Categories

