Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | March 2, 2013

Exterior Improvements-02 The Hot Tub

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Shortly after the ornamental grasses were planted and the stone border was completed. I dragged every stone home myself from field and ditch and hauled them into place.

When we moved to our 5-acre “farmette” in the country in 2000, this property was basically un-improved. There was a large pole barn with a grass driveway, a horrid (more weeds than gravel) gravel driveway in front of the house and a pool house structure that served as a pump house and storage.  I’m not sure why, but apparently in this part of the country it’s the “norm” for there to be no sidewalk, no landscaping, just grass and weeds growing right up to the house.

Guess no one here wants to be bothered with flowers, shrubs…but I had BIG plans!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Delivery day! Out small two-man tub has arrived.

Because we had a hot tub in our old city home that I was very reluctant to leave, my husband had promised me that we would have one here. I’m a real hot tub enthusiast, having saved $100.00 a month for 8 years to FINALLY buy my hot tub on my 40th birthday. I’m in my hot tub every day in the winter months.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Phase two, after deck but before landscaping.

When I was designing my exterior landscaping I planned for a ground level mini deck for hot tub placement. I choose an enclosed corner created by the three-season porch outside of my kitchen area. This would allow us to walk through the sun porch slider, onto our deck and into the hot tub. It was close enough to the house for me to access daily.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Deck is located off the sun-porch for easy access.

First I had the small ground level deck built. I designed a diagonal edge deck and landscaping to help offset the long, straight lines of our very l-o-n-g ranch home. Then the 220 electric was installed by our electrician then the hot tub was chosen, delivered and arrived. Oh, happy day!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The tub faces west to take advantage of the sunshine and wooded views. This blue top was temporary while the brown was one was on order.

I drew up a plan to landscape around the deck, choosing tall ornamental grasses as a kind of living screen for privacy.  Every stone was hauled home by either Gene or and I placed every stone ourself as well as hauling 5-gallon buckets of pea gravel in a garden cart to the site. Considering I did the entire landscaping myself, and on a dime, I am very pleased with how it turned out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Again, the final project complete. Bring your bathing suit and towel when you drop by!!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

