Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | April 12, 2013

My Art Filled Home

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Follow Your Dreams” assembledge is made from a wine crate, stamped, Scrabble pieces and a photograph transferred onto a metal plate.

My home may not be decorated in all white, have the latest and greatest flat screen TV and electronics or be located in a fancy up-scale neighborhood, but I own a home filled with art and that makes me content in a way that the latest and the greatest would not.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hand-carved /hand painted box of Sassafras wood with cherry hinges made by Paul and Brenda Bonnes of Virgina.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

‘Diana goddess and protector of the animal” has been wood burned inside the door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The inside of the box with shelves, two small drawers and a hidden compartment too.

I put a photo of my 1940’s fireplace up on Houzz last week asking for suggestions for shelving ideas and you should have seen the comments – “Your couch needs to be replaced,” “Your old TV needs to be upgraded.” I bet they would faint dead away if they realize we don’t have anything but antenna TV! The absolute shock of it all!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two of my handmade paper collages on canvas.

I just don’t care about the latest and the greatest. I care more about living within my budget, about owning a house that is paid for and creating a home filled with art and my own handcrafted pieces. A house with personality has always been more my style and taste than the cutting edge,  up-to-date, new everything, color-of-the-year-perfect-home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A flea market find – an oil painting of a barn in the snow by Mia Brown.

I’ve come to accept that at my age and in my budget range, fully “up-to-date” is never going to happen.  So I might as well enjoy collecting, displaying and living in a home filled with the artwork and antiques I’ve collected over the years. This is who I am world!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My hand-cast handmade paper bowl next to our deerskin drums fills a corner of our guest bedroom.

This means a mix of artwork in the small house I’ve created, inherited, collected, bought and bartered for.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Autumn apples in a basket by Holland, MI painter, Chris Brown.

My first husband wouldn’t let me put holes in the walls to hang the photographs I took. (What can I say I was only 19 when I married him and I was naive!) My second husband told me that he’d like our home to be filled with MY artwork! The first was the practice marriage, but this one is the keeper!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Dream” assembledge features image transfer on metal plate, and hand-washed painted and stained.

While it may not be expensive or even “fine art” it is definitely my expressive home lovingly filled with the hand-crafted;  paintings, photography, pottery, vintage and antiques, live plants and my own hand-painted furniture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Image transfer of my original photograph transferred on my handmade paper and mounted on canvas.

I like that I have helped to support minor artists by collecting, displaying and sharing their work.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Egg plants painted on panel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another of my canvas with ferns and Lake Michigan stone.

An artful home makes me happy every time I walk in it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Donna, thanks for this. You are so right. Fabric-covered chandelier cords and matching draperies don’t hold a candle to heartfelt original artwork, however humble or grand. My husband loves my art, too, wants it on the walls, and loves to have input on my furniture projects (which I always “take under advisement”)! And your papers are outstanding, as i said before.
    Leslie

    • Leslie, You are SO welcome. Your husband too-HA! I always appreciate your reading and feedback. You are such a great follower!


Leave a Reply

Categories

