Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | April 15, 2013

My Weekend Scores

We’ve had an unusually cold spring this year, but the garage sale season has finally started in Michigan.

I made it to two sales this week. I didn’t find as many treasures I had hoped but it’s a start. I just missed a newer $5.00 scale by a minute (I came round the table to the left and the scale buyer came right, darn it.) But I did score this primitive, sunshine yellow, chippy box and the antebellum lady tin. Oh well, always a tradeoff.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am collecting items for resale for a new shop, Water Wolf, in Saugatuck. For those of you who don’t know Saugatuck, Michigan, it’s an old resort town on Lake Michigan where many artists and city folks trying to escape the heat and hustle bustle to gather for the summer. It’s a hub for boaters, vacationers, art lovers and others who love the water, the sun and a slower pace of life.

Other weekend finds is this Feather Brand canoe paddle. Made by Caviness Woodworking Company, Calhoun City, Miss, the original logo though faded and scratched from use is still there. This is an oar that was well used! I had originally thought I’d paint and stripe the oar but when I discovered the logo, I decided refinishing was more in order. So I sanded, stained and waxed to bring it back to life.

Friends are opening an exciting new show that will sell a mix of art and antiques, something I know a little bit about! Lol. They asked me to sell my hand-painted furniture on consignment there as well as my hand-made paper collages. Very exciting!

So I’m busy collecting items, making inventories and hand tags for my delivery just a few weeks away.

They plan to open Water Wolf over Memorial Weekend, which is a traditional seasonal shop opening in our area. I’ll have all the nitty gritty details in an upcoming post, plus photographs, so stay tuned!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

