Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | April 18, 2013

Michigan Pine Dresser Make Over

I have to stop painting with Michigan Pine green. Every time I paint something vintage in this color I want desperately want to keep the piece I just painted. I am head over head in love with Michigan Pine green. Green is just my color. It’s interesting too because depending on the color of wood below the paint, I’ve had it go from teal to a deep forest green. Very interesting and changeable paint!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Painted and staged at last! 

This turn-of-the-century three-drawer dresser was a Craig’s List purchase and I paid quite a bit more for it than I normally do. But I am very attracted to its rock solid hard wood, its clean lines, the inset side panel and especially its original matching hardware and white porcelain casters. Even the back of this piece is near perfect.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before painting. Look at these unique brass drawer pulls and keyholes.

Normally we are gluing, filling in missing veneer and practically rebuilding the furniture I buy. The wood in this piece so super sound but unfortunately came covered with some kind of very thick, very crusty sealer that needed to be removed if I wanted a smooth finish.  You may recall before my writing previously about my husband’s preference for scraping and sanding off a finish over wet stripping. He worked on this piece during the cold and snowy Michigan weather so he opted to scraped yet again and then sand. This was big, big job this time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This photo appears much redder than it is. In fact it is stained in a dark walnut Minwax.

In fact it took him so long that by the time he was done, I knew what colors and design I wanted to paint this piece.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A close up of the brass pulls against the gorgeous Michigan Pine paint.

I painted the drawers and side panel with two coats of Ce Ce Caldwell’s’ Michigan Pine green and one coat of ASCP dark wax. The original wood tone was a bit too reddish for me, so I stained the rest using Minwax Dark Walnut. I even cleaned and stained the back to clean it up and create a nice looking back in case the dresser might be set in a room at a diagonal. The trickiest part of my job was blending in the painted edge to the stained edge!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A side view of the inset panel. I wax with dark wax directly over the Michigan Pine paint.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m in love with this color combination. It is the colors I use in our home.

I decided to leave the brass hardware just as it arrived and after the paint was cured, we put them back on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One last look…Before.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And After!

While fully painted furniture is a big hit in other parts of the USA, the more conservative Midwest seems to prefer stained wood. So, I’m developing a new “style” with part paint and part stained sections to see if I can appeal to both markets. And, I’m dying to see how the public feels about painted AND stained furniture.

This piece will be for sale for $250.00 through White Oak Studio Designs.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. I’d love to hear how it goes over as well. It’s beautiful and I hope you sell it soon and can avoid the “I want to keep it” temptation. It’s hard to let go of something you put yourself into. Good luck with it!
    Liz

    • Thanks Liz for your kind words. You are right…we have to let your children go! lol!

      Thanks for stopping by the Small House under a Big Sky

      Small House / Big Sky Donna

  2. Beautiful piece!


Leave a Reply

Categories

