Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | April 25, 2013

cueHot Pink Roadside Rescue Sidetable

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some curvy, girly-girl legs gave me a change to play!

I picked up this mid-century Modern side table off the curb in South Haven, MI.,  last week. It was in great condition, just dusty, dirty and rain spotted but I knew it would be cute as a bug when painted. What a treat to not have to wait for my dear hubby to repair and sand.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Roadside rescue table “before.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A good view of the simple stencil here.

I washed it up real good and then I polled my paint stash and thought that I’d experiment with a brighter color for a change. I layered on the first coat of ASCP Scandinavian Pink and then mixed up a custom color of 1 /2 cup CCC  Kansas Wheat (my neutral) and ¼ cup of ASCP Scandinavian Pink.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A close up of the bird on a branch stencil.

I painted two light layers of Scandinavian Pink and then accented with the a coat of custom lighter pink, I am calling “Ashes of Roses Pink.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I played around with some “pink on pink” staging here…

This is a BIG departure for me from my typical work but it was fun to do something different and bright! This is fit for a cottage or maybe a “girly girl’s” room, don’t you think?

This piece is available for $60.00 through White Oak Studio Designs.

Small House/  Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Very nice! Someday I am going to try my hand at stenciling. Did you use a trick to keep the dark pink and light pink separate on the legs? My brush does not cooperate very well where 2 colors would join, and I’m not sure about taping on a curved leg.

    • Hi there!

      Its really very easy to paint that way. I use a 2″ Purdy’s brush. In fact, I do it by hand. Though I might suggest that you tape it too. But I don’t usually tape to because I am in a hurry. Yes, I do occasionally overlap but I just go back and touch up. This color required three coats, quite unusual for light wood.

      Give it a try. Each time you paint the legs this way you get better! I’ve only been painting a year.

      Donna

    • I had another thought overnight…I also use as small watercolor brush bought at Hobby Lobby (use on-line coupon) for “close up” work. Lots of times I use that brush where the two colors meet esp. on rounded or turned legs.

      Hope this helps!

      Donna

      On Thu, Apr 25, 2013 at 7:05 PM, Donna Allgaier-Lamberti wrote:

      > Hi there! > > Its really very easy to paint that way. I use a 2″ Purdy’s brush. In fact, > I do it by hand. Though I might suggest that you tape it too. But I don’t > usually tape to because I am in a hurry. Yes, I do occasionally overlap but > I just go back and touch up. This color required three coats, quite unusual > for light wood. > > Give it a try. Each time you paint the legs this way you get better! I’ve > only been painting a year. > > Donna > > > On Thu, Apr 25, 2013 at 2:54 PM, Small House Under a Big Sky <

      • Thanks for the tips. I use a 2″ Purdy’s brush also and just don’t feel that I have that much control with it. I have the perfect chair with spindled legs so I’ll have to ponder a good color scheme and one of these days be brave!

      • Try the small watercolor brush on that case. that should work!
        Thanks for checking in the small house.


Leave a Reply

Categories

