Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | April 29, 2013

Daffodil Yellow Side Table Says Spring

After a long, cold and white Michigan winter, I can’t wait for the daffodils because they remind me so much of spring! So I recently painted this side table inspired by the color and feel of daffodils.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Side table with a drawer and a shelf.

This side table is a bit more modern than I typically go for, maybe 1960’s era? But the price was right and I have been looking for more side tables for my new Holland outlet so I was willing to give it a chance. I thought it might interest the person who wanted a pretty little storage piece for their cottage rather than totally vintage. I also like its clean-lined shape, and thought that it would be saleable.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love an unexpected splash of color when you open up a drawer.

I painted the main portion of the piece in Annie Sloan Chalk Paint Johnston Yellow and highlighted it by dry brushing on ACSP Antibes green. I painted the inside of the drawer Antibes as well for a real punch of color. I cleaned up the copper drawer pulls and found that I really like the cooper against the soft yellow and bright green colors.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I lightly cleaned up the original copper drawer pulls and left them natural just using a light ASCP waxed coat.

I lightly distressed it, waxed it in ASC clear soft wax and whalla. Spring in your room!

This piece could be used in a nursery, a bathroom, a sun porch or a bedroom.

It is for sale and will be delivered to College Town Vintage in Holland, MI., this week. It is for sale for $60.00.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As always thanks for stopping in and Happy Spring!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

