Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | May 9, 2013

Leather and Lace – Painted vs. Stained

Just finished a “round-up” of pieces of my work that features both stained and painted surfaces.

In case you haven’t already noticed, right now, I’m now really “into” stain and paint combos in my transformed furniture work.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A walnut turn-of-the-century dresser stained and painted in CcCe Caldwell’s Michigan Pine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Before”

I am very attracted to the interesting and surprising contrasts of the paint colors (lace) to the dark and bright of stain and wood (leather). There is just something about the look of a gorgeous piece done up in wood and paint!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This 1940’s Jacobean Revival sideboard boosts a combo of CeCe Caldwell’s Kansas Wheat, Smoky Mountain and Dark Walnut Miniwax stain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Before”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This French provincial table in ASCP Graphite and Dark Walnut Minwax stained top sold within the hour I delivered it to the shop.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Before”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Milk paint blue, Dark Walnut Minwax stain and ASCP Old White in the drawers.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Before”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A sewing bin in my favorite mix, wood tones and CCC Michigan Pine chalk paint.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Before”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This Empire dresser has CeCe Caldwell’s Michigan Pine painted on the drawers.

I sell my painted furniture in the oh so Traditional Midwest where folks still want their furniture done up in “varnished wood.” I’m trying to convince them, ever so gently and s-lo-w-l-y, that painted and stained is equally as cool and beautiful as just stained and varnished.

PicMonkey Collage Mahagony Inlaid table 2012

Love this gorgeous combo….Stained veneer top and a dry brushed CCC Smoky Mountain painted bottom.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stained maple top child table with green painted legs and chairs.

Do you also get this question…”Why would you want to paint that when you could strip and varnish it?”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dark walnut stained top and a custom wash paint below.

Today I collected some examples of my painted and stained pieces that I dubbed, “Leather and Lace.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A newer Stanley, three-drawer dresser in stained maple wood with painted trim.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Before”

So what do you readers vote…painted or stained and varnish? I just bet I know what most of you bloggers vote. (Me too!)

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. I am enjoying seeing all of your projects!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Stacey of Embracing Change

    • Thank you Stacey, you are so kind! I know it traditional to post the “round up” piece at the end of the year but it seems like the right time to me to do it now. I feel a “personal style” coming on! Small House / Big Sky Donna


Leave a Reply

Categories

