Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | May 16, 2013

Parlor Table Transformed at Last!

Even though this turn of the century parlor table is pictured on my business cards, I never really wrote about the transformation of this table top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A dress form and airy birdhouse helped to create the simple and delicate staging style I prefer.

This table was purchase locally when I answered a newspaper advertisement while looking for “display” pieces for the former White Oak Studio & Gallery. I hit the jackpot when a lady had six great pieces to sell and was thrilled to see them go into a local shop to be used for display purposes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The wood tone of the top and side pick up the golden tones in the distressed areas.

I loved the vintage shape of this table; the crossbars, the turned legs and especially the beautiful top. But the top was covered in a thick, dull hazy “mystery finish” and needed to be stripped and refinished. For the past eight or so years it was in the gallery buried under merchandise for sale so I didn’t pay much attention to it. Then the day came when I needed a piece I could carry in by hand to paint in a Shizzle Design chalk painting class and this is the one I choose.

643883_464691303574576_38176555_n[1]

Shelly of Shizzle Design took this photograph for her website. You can see how dull the top is.

We stripped and sanded the top, I painted and wet distressed the base in Michigan Pine chalk paint by CeCe Caldwell. The painted base was lightly waxed with clear soft wax.

close up turningsclose up decorative inserts

Two more beautiful close up shots by Shizzle Design. Thanks again Shelly!

The top wood is an outstandingly beautiful butterfly splice veneer. I didn’t want a finish that made it too shiny so I waited until I was sure of what I wanted to do.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Varathane Matt Sealer was the perfect choice to protect the beauty of this tabletop.

There it sat. I was so busy painting pieces that needed to go out on consignment plus the fact that I had run out of matte sealer, I never quite got around to finishing the top. It’s been sitting on my three-season porch ever since.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The maple wood shows through the Michigan Pine on the turned legs when lightly wet distressed.

Last week I finally got busy.  I brushed on a coat of Varathane matt sealer and hauled the table to the studio to my photo corner to style and photograph it. Yesterday I created this PicMonkey collage.

Shizzle collage 7jpeg

Do you have pieces that never quite seem to get finished as well?

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Lovely as usual!


Leave a Reply

Categories

