Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | May 23, 2013

Giving Back

I’m a person who believes in giving back when you can. I hope this does not sound like bragging…I share this because some day I hope my grand children will read this blog and have a better understanding of just who I am.

I signed the paperwork donating my organs while in my 20’s. I try to volunteer whenever  I can within my community. For the past 6 years I’ve lead the “Clean Team” in my small township and I we clean up the roadside of trash once a month. I participate in a “No Fracking” group to disseminate the dangers of fracking.

After two and a half years of growing out my hair, this week I donated my hair to Locks of Love. This was a scary decision because I like my hair long enough to brush, braid and go. It just makes my life so much simpler. I don’t like my hair short because my full German face looks even fuller.

But I did it anyway.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, so silver hair “Before” the hair cut.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“After.” Check out that braid over my right shoulder.

viewer[1]

My Locks of Love certificate.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Well done! 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. That is a lovely gesture. My youngest son does that…grows it long and then donates it every few years. We have always had a philosophy in our family of “Paying it forward”. Even if you can’t make right all of your wrongs in life, you can at least try to help those in your future who need it.

  3. Your writing is fiercely personal, lovely and your comment so appreciated. I love your last sentence, “Even if you can’t make right all your wrongs in life, you can at least try to help those in your future who need it.” So true. I sincerely thank you.

  4. Such wonderful thoughts about leaving our imprint on the world…


Leave a Reply

Categories

