Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | May 31, 2013

Farmhouse Table Transformed – Before and After

May I present our 100-year-old Sheraton-Style, expandable vintage farmhouse table with extra leaf (leaf not shown in this photo) and one of the six matching vintage “T” back oak chairs. Look at those beautiful and chunky turned legs on porcelain casters on that table!

   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“After”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was really getting into the red, white and blue theme!

Yes, I could have just left the table base white (see below) but it was really thickly painted with lots of drips and the top was a mess. When I turned it over to wax the base I could see sections of former paint in green, gray, white and the original walnut stained and varnish. My “pride in my work” would not let me sell it as is, especially with the top all a mess.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Before” the White Oak Design Studio transformation.

Beside, I’m not really a plain white painted kind-of-furniture-person.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In my opinion, white on white just does not show off the outstanding legs, trim and carvings on this antique table.

So I painted this solid walnut turn-of-the-century table in eco-friendly Ce Ce Caldwell Maine Blue chalk paint and mixed up a custom blue/green chalk paint trim paint to appropriately highlight the amazing carved legs and trim. Both paints are toxin free! I waxed directly over the paint with no clear wax in between. This pairing of dark wax and painted piece has become my signature look and I really wanted to show off the side carvings, trim and beautiful turned legs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Working on waxing the table base in the studio. I find turning the table upside down makes waxing legs much easier for me.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Close up view of leg turnings and painting design.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The top needed a lot of work so it was heavily sanded with a belt sander finished with an orbital sander. I then stained the top and leaf in a dark walnut sealing it with Varathane matt protective finish for just the right amount of shine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The top is now restored to a gorgeous walnut finish.

This table is paired with the 6 super-sturdy “T” back oak chairs with wood seats. Each chair was cleaned and refinished with Restore-a-Finish. Add a seat cushion of your choice and you are good to go for many years to come. These old oak pieces were crafted to last!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the 6 well made, oak “T” back chair that are paired with this farmhouse table.

This will make a super sturdy dining or kitchen table or a hard-wearing big work table or craft desk as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had so much fun choosing farmhouse appropriate props and creating this photo styled display.

The set is priced at $350.00 and is for sale through White Oak Studio Designs.

TABLE: 41″ L X 321/2″ W X 30″ H

LEAF: 41″ L X 11″ W

6 “T” BACK CHAIRS: 38″ T X 16″ W (at the chair seat)

Blue table collage 6 5-31-13

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Linking to:

1) Miss Mustard Seed

2) Three Mango Seeds

3) Embracing Change

4) The Dedicated House – Anything Blue Friday’s

Sent to:

1) CeCe Caldwell’s blog https://www.facebook.com/WhereIsCeceCaldwellsPaintsNow

Responses

  1. Beautiful work! This set should sell quickly. What brand of dark wax did you use?

  2. Thank you. Still working on my can of Annie Sloan dark wax. One of these days I do need to open the new CCC wax!!

  3. Lovely table..,love the staging

    • Thank you!! I have worked VERY hard on improving my staging and my photography this past year so it is very gratifying that you have noticed and compliment me on it! Just today I realized should have used one of my husbands RED oil lanterns in this particular staging….s-I-g-h. Another time perhaps. Namaste!

  4. Oh that table is fabulous! You sound a little like me with the drips and lack of desire to paint white! People always look at me weird when I say I don’t really paint white, I do but not very often, seriously ANYONE can paint white, but it takes vision and creativity to pick great colors!

    • Thank you for your ever so kind words, I do appreciate them. I think we are both on the same page. I also feel that same that anyone can paint a whole table white….then why do they need me or my skills! I appreciate your compliments and your sweet visit to the small house under a big sky. Stop in again when you are in the neighborhood!


Leave a Reply

Categories

